Review: Pur Intense Hydrating Moisturizer

Pur Intense Hydrating Moisturizer review

In my ever-lasting quest to find a moisturizer capable of quenching my thirsty, thirsty skin without leaving it oily, I have been trying out the Pur Intense Hydrating Moisturizer ($34) for the past couple of weeks.

The product claims (from purminerals.com): Delivers a mega-dose of oil-free hydration for a visibly softer, smoother look and more comfortable feel. Featuring a trio of clinically tested superingredients, this decadent, dewy cream provides both immediate relief from dryness and long-term moisture loss prevention to keep your skin looking its radiant best.

After trying to incorporate this moisturizer into my skincare routine for the past several weeks, I have to admit that I’m quite unimpressed. While it does deliver on its promise of being oil-free, the product simply isn’t hydrating enough. My skin feels tight and dry almost immediately after application, and even when combined with an eye-cream underneath, my under-eye area still feels dry throughout the day.

Another major drawback of this product is that the gel formula dries to an incredibly sticky consistency. If after applying the product to your face, you have any residue remaining on your hands (and hey, who likes to waste a nice face-cream? I usually rub whatever my face/neck area can’t absorb onto the back of my hands) you will have to wash them thoroughly before you touch anything. This odd stickiness sets in after the moisturizer dries, and doesn’t lend itself well to being combined with foundation.

I have found that unless I am wearing something that is extremely light-coverage, such as a BB cream or a tinted moisturizer, I cannot apply a foundation on top of this product and have it blend and spread smoothly. This fact would be less of a nuisance if this was exclusively a night-cream, but since Pur advertises the moisturizer as both a day and night product, this is quite an annoyance during the day.

Pur Intense Hydrating Moisturizer review

On the other hand, some of the things that I enjoyed about this product are its lack of scent and packaging. The Pur Intense Hydrating Moisturizer is almost scent-free while in the container, and is entirely scent-free when applied to the skin. I don’t enjoy skincare products with unnecessary artificial fragrances so this quite up my alley. Additionally, I quite like the packaging. Even though the container is moistly plastic and not as expensive-looking as other products on the market, I find that the sloping bottom of the container and the clear lid are a neat little gimmick that makes me think of a retro sci-fi gadget of some sort (for a big geek such as myself, this is an endless source of amusement).

Overall, I find that the positives of this product are far surpassed by its many drawbacks. In addition to not being hydrating enough for my skin, Pur Intense Hydrating Moisturizer dries into a sticky film-like consistency which interferes with further make-up application. Even though this is a fairly inexpensive product ($34 for 60 grams), I will not be repurchasing it in the future.

This post was written by Liza

Ingredients:

Pur Intense Hydrating Moisturizer ingredients
Pur Intense Hydrating Moisturizer review

2 thoughts on “Review: Pur Intense Hydrating Moisturizer

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

