Review + swatches + look: Too Faced Born This Way Foundation

Too Faced Born This Way Foundation in Vanilla and Warm Nude review and swatch

Too Faced Born This Way Foundation (C$49), new for summer 2015, is an oil free, full-coverage, luminous finish foundation. Currently vailable in 12 shades with 6 new shades coming out this fall, it is infused with coconut water for hydration and boosting radiance, alpine rose for brightening and promoting elasticity, and hyaluronic acid to hydration and smoothing the skin’s surface.

The shade Warm Nude is the perfect match for my NC25 skin tone. Warm Nude is yellow-based but definitely a lot more neutral leaning. I also received Vanilla which is a tinge too light, which normally would be okay but it’s also too yellow. Vanilla would be better for NC20 skin tones.

Too Faced Born This Way Foundation in Vanilla and Warm Nude review and swatch
Too Faced Born This Way Foundation in Vanilla and Warm Nude review and swatch

For a long-lasting foundation, Born This Way is very hydrating. Even though it is high coverage, it feels ultra light on the skin, and melts in like silk. In terms of hiding imperfections, it does an amazing job at covering redness and small blemishes. The freckles on my cheeks still peek through, which is great because it’s not an entirely mask-like effect. Pore coverage is above average; the foundation smooths over most of my pores leaving an even look. The finish on this foundation is a satin – not quite dewy and not quite matte. If you have dry skin, you don’t need to powder afterward. I powder anyways to help with lasting power, and also because I prefer the matte look on work days.

The most impressive thing about Born This Way Foundation is that last power is incredible – I wore this for a full 14 hours (apply at 8AM, remove at 10PM) and the foundation looked almost exactly the same as when I just applied it, maybe even better due to it blending with the natural oils on my face. Because of its hydrating properties, oil control weren’t great and I generally have to blot after a few hours, and then throughout the day. Despite the blotting, it still stayed mostly intact on my face throughout the day.

I can’t say enough good things about this foundation. I’ve previously found full coverage foundations that I liked but I didn’t love, whereas I really love Born This Way Foundation. I have been finding myself reaching for this almost every day since I received it. For a full coverage foundation, you end up with flawless, yet natural-looking skin at the same time, which really is magical.

You can purchase Too Faced Born This Way Foundation at Sephora in stores and online.

The swatches

Vanilla and Warm Nude

Too Faced Born This Way Foundation in Vanilla and Warm Nude review and swatch

The look

Wearing Too Faced Born This Way Foundation in Warm Nude

Too Faced Born This Way Foundation in Vanilla and Warm Nude review and swatch
Too Faced Born This Way Foundation in Vanilla and Warm Nude review and swatch

Too Faced Born This Way Foundation in Vanilla and Warm Nude review and swatch
Too Faced Born This Way Foundation in Vanilla and Warm Nude review and swatch

6 thoughts on “Review + swatches + look: Too Faced Born This Way Foundation

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

