Review: Aveeno Fresh Essentials skincare line

Aveeno Fresh Essentials review

I’m excited to welcome my friend Judy to Maddy Loves as a guest contributor! Judy and I went to university together (and also Chinese school way back when) and we’re often comparing product tips and recommendations. I’m super happy that Judy has offered to help out with writing content for Maddy Loves, especially since she’s also such a skincare fanatic.

My skin profile: I have dry sensitive skin and a t-zone that can get oily in warmer weather. I am prone to breakouts on my chin once or twice a month. My main skin concerns are around maintaining good hydration and preventing the first signs of aging. My ideal skin care products are ones that will provide me abundant hydration and nourishment (I am not afraid of oils!) and are as “green” (natural, organic, free of chemicals) as possible.

The Aveeno Fresh Essentials line is a line that features Aveeno’s proprietary Active Naturals Southernwood plant extract formulas which claim to provide antioxidants that help maintain the skin’s moisture barrier for fresh and healthy skin. I’m reviewing the Daily Exfoliating Scrub, Daily Nourishing Moisturizer with SPF30, and the Hydrating Night Cream today.

Aveeno Fresh Essentials Daily Exfoliating Scrub

This Daily Exfoliating Scrub is a gentle scrub appropriate for daily use that contains natural luffa and coconut pulp to gently scrub away any dead skin and polish. The entire line, including this product, has an artificial “fresh” scent that I’m personally not fond of (it veers towards those cheap perfume sprays that teenage girls use) but I’m sure others will find it inoffensive.

After cleansing, I massaged this product all over my face and neck for about thirty seconds and then rinsed it off. I like that the granules are very small and don’t drag or feel harsh on the skin. After washing off, I did find that my skin felt slightly smoother and I also appreciated that it didn’t leave my face feeling tight or dry in any way. I think it’s a good product and appropriately marketed for daily use as it is gentle enough. However, since I’m not a fan of the scent and also prefer to use acid exfoliants rather than physical, it wasn’t the ideal product for me.

The Aveeno Fresh Essentials Daily Exfoliating Scrub is priced at $13.79 for 145mL and is available at major drugstores.

Recommend? Yes (if you don’t mind the scent and a physical exfoliant)

Ingredients: Water (eau), Glycerin, Ammonium Lauryl Sulfate, Polyethylene, Glyceryl Stearate, Lauryl Glucoside, Acrylates / C10-30 Alkyl Acrylate Crosspolymer, Caprylyl Glycol, Sodium Hydroxide, Cetearyl Olivate, Oryza Sativa (Rice) Bran Wax, Luffa Cylindrica Fruit, Cocos Nucifera (Coconut) Fruit, Chlorphenesin, Sorbitan Olivate, Citric Acid, Tetrasodium EDTA, Caprylhydroxamic Acid, Butylene Glycol, Artemisia Abrotanum Flower/Leaf/Stem Extract, Hydrolyzed Caesalpinia Spinosa Gum, Caesalpinia Spinosa Gum, Parfum

Aveeno Fresh Essentials Daily Nourishing Moisturizer

The Daily Nourishing Moisturizer boasts an SPF of 30 in addition being oil-free and including vitamins A, C, and E. I like that it comes in a pump, which makes dispensing very easy and hygenic. Unfortunately this product also has the same strong scent to be found throughout the Fresh Essentials collection, with the additional smell of sunscreen due to its SPF content.

I think this is a good product for someone who has more normal skin as I found that it didn’t have enough moisture for my dry skin. I was also a bit offput by the tackiness left behind due to the sunscreen. It would be perfect for those who really want to streamline their morning routine as SPF30 is great for everyday and thus they wouldn’t have to think about applying sunscreen on top of their moisturizer. However, I don’t mind the extra step and I prefer to use a separate sunscreen that has more of a satin finish.

The Aveeno Fresh Essentials Daily Nourishing Moisturizer is priced at $22.99 for 74mL and is available at major drugstores.

Recommend? No

Ingredients: Homosalate (12%), Octisalate (5%), Avobenzone (3%), Oxybenzone (3%), Octocrylene (1.7%), Artemisia Abrotanum Extract, Butylene Glycol, Caesalpinia Spinosa Gum, Candelilla/Jojoba/Rice Bran Polyglyceryl-3 Esters, Cellulose Gum, Cera Microcristallina, Cetearyl Alcohol, Cetyl Alcohol, Cetyl Hydroxyethylcellulose, Chlorphenesin, Citric Acid, Disodium EDTA, Ethylhexylglycerin, Glycerin, Glyceryl Stearate, Hydrolyzed Caesalpinia Spinosa Gum, Magnesium Aluminum Silicate, Octyldodecanol, Octyldodecyl Neopentanoate, Panthenol, Parfum, Phenoxyethanol, Polyquaterium-51, Potassium Cetyl Phosphate, Potassium Sorbate, Retinyl Palmitate, Silica, Sodium Ascorbyl Phosphate, Sodium Hyaluronate, Sodium Hydroxide, Sodium PCA, Sodium Stearoyl Lactylate, Tocopherol, Tocopherol Acetate, Trehalose, Triacetin, Urea, Water (eau)

Aveeno Fresh Essentials Hydrating Night Cream

The Hydrating Night Cream is oil-free and contains vitamins A, C and E. I added this to my evening skincare regime as the last step (after cleanser, toner, eye cream, serum). Even though it’s a night cream, I found it to be quite light and watery in texture and it was easy to smooth on and sink into my skin.

However, I have a few concerns. First of all, the scent that’s found throughout this entire line is really strong and I could smell it an hour later as I drifted off to sleep. Second, the jar packaging is not as hygenic as a pump which meant I had to use a clean cotton bud every time I wanted to scoop a bit of product out. And finally, I found it didn’t provide me enough moisture for a night cream. I like very thick and moisturizing night creams that both sink into my skin and sit on it overnight to ensure adequate moisture. Right before bed, it already felt like I hadn’t applied anything.

While I think people with more normal skin could use this as a night cream, it was definitely not appropriate for my needs.

The Aveeno Fresh Essentials Daily Nourishing Moisturizer is priced at $22.99 for 49mL and is available at major drugstores.

Recommend? No

Ingredients: Artemisia Abrotanum Extract, Butylene Glycol, Caesalpinia Spinosa Gum, Candelilla/Jojoba/Rice Bran Polyglyceryl-3 Esters, Cellulose Gum, Cera Microcristallina, Cetearyl Alcohol, Cetyl Alcohol, Cetyl Hydroxyethylcellulose, Chlorphenesin, Citric Acid, Disodium EDTA, Ethylhexylglycerin, Glycerin, Glyceryl Stearate, Hydrolyzed Caesalpinia Spinosa Gum, Magnesium Aluminum Silicate, Octyldodecanol, Octyldodecyl Neopentanoate, Panthenol, Parfum, Phenoxyethanol, Polyquaterium-51, Potassium Cetyl Phosphate, Potassium Sorbate, Retinyl Palmitate, Silica, Sodium Ascorbyl Phosphate, Sodium Hyaluronate, Sodium Hydroxide, Sodium PCA, Sodium Stearoyl Lactylate, Tocopherol, Tocopherol Acetate, Trehalose, Triacetin, Urea, Water (eau)

Aveeno Fresh Essentials review9

2 thoughts on “Review: Aveeno Fresh Essentials skincare line

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

