Review: Shiseido Ultimune Eye Power Infusing Eye Concentrate

Shiseido Ultimune Eye Power Infusing Eye Concentrate review

Following the success of Shiseido Ultimune, Shiseido Ultimune Eye is the next-generation eye pre-serum, also touted to heighten the benefits of any serums and products used after it. I was very lucky to attend the Shiseido VIP dinner with Dave Lackie a few weeks ago, and received a sneak peek of this new eye product. Ultimune Eye is a lighter version of the original Ultimune, to be used exclusively around the delicate eye area. As with the original Ultimune, it is also aimed at improving the skin’s immunity by targeting the Langerhans cells in your skin. Also as with my original Ultimine review, I won’t focus too much on the claims of the product, and will test it for efficacy in improving my skin quality.

My skin profile: I have very dehydrated cheeks with a t-zone that gets oily. I occasionally get break-outs, usually 1-2 around that time of the month. My main skin concerns are hyper-pigmentation and dehydration in the cheek area and fine lines in the eye area. My ideal skincare products are ones that provide good moisture to my skin, absorb quickly and leave no left-over product sitting on top of my skin.

What it claims (from Shiseido.com): Like your body, your skin has an immune system that functions less efficiently with time, environmental exposure, and stress. Ultimune Eye Power Infusing Eye Concentrate uniquely strengthens the delicate skin around the eye area and helps protect against environmental stressors that can lead to wrinkles, dark circles and other signs of aging. This highly concentrated serum creates a deeply hydrating, dewy veil that helps protect against impurities and oxidation. It can also be used with other eye care products to enhance benefits and address concerns more effectively.

  • Shiseido’s exclusive Ultimune Complex™* is formulated with Bulgarian Rose Water, Aqua In Pool and Yeast to help protect, strengthen, and maintain healthy looking skin.
  • New ImuMoisture Extract™ helps enhance the effects of Ultimune Complex™ to uniquely strengthen the delicate skin around the eye area.
  • Formulated with a unique botanical power blend of Gingko Biloba Leaf Extract, Shiso and Thyme.

Shiseido Ultimune Eye Power Infusing Eye Concentrate review

Price: $65 for 15mL

Texture/Scent: Light gel-like fluid, scented with rose and lotus

How to use: The Shiseido Ultimune Eye is a “pre-serum,” as in you use it after your cleanser, toner and before your serum, eye cream, and moisturizer. I find that half a pump is good enough for both eye areas.

Shiseido Ultimune Eye Power Infusing Eye Concentrate review
Shiseido Ultimune Eye Power Infusing Eye Concentrate review

The good: Ultimune Eye absorbs quicky and I felt that it made my skin feel more hydrated. It is very light in texture, and was a pleasure to apply on the eye area. It absorbs quickly after patting it around the eye area, and creates a good canvas for eye cream to glide over. I find that you can use less eye cream after using this, which can help you save money in the long run (I’m currently using a La Prairie Eye Cream). It also smells amazing – so soothing when used before bed. The packaging is very sleek looking, but not as nice as the bottle for Ultimune; Ultimune was packaged in a beautiful glass bottle, whereas Ultimune Eye is in a lightweight plastic bottle. It feels super light, in that I don’t know if it’s empty or full.

  • Hydrating
  • Absorbs quickly
  • Smells great
  • Sleek bottle design

The bad: In terms of efficacy, similarly to the original Ultimune, I didn’t notice any improvement in my eye area that wasn’t already provided by my existing eye cream. Again I didn’t test this out with a Shiseido eye cream so it might be more effective if you use them together, but my impression was that Ultimune and Ultimune Eye would just slot right into an existing skincare regime to boost the efficacy of the existing regime. Unfortunately, that didn’t happen. Also you only needed a tiny bit for both eyes, but the pump packaging would dispense way too much than required. I only needed 1/4 to 1/3 of a pump for both my eyes, and had to be extra careful not to press the pump too hard to minimize waste.

  • Didn’t notice any benefits to the eye area
  • Packaging not good for dispensing the right amount.

Overall: As with my conclusion to my Ultimune review, the Ultimune Eye is a nice to have, but not must have. I can’t speak for its efficacy when used with other Shiseido products, but when built into my existing regime, it didn’t provide any additional boosting benefits.

Product: 12/20
Packaging: 4/5
Value: 3/5
Overall: 19/30 | C
Repurchase? No

Ingredients:

Shiseido Ultimune Eye ingredients
Shiseido Ultimune Eye Power Infusing Eye Concentrate review

One thought on “Review: Shiseido Ultimune Eye Power Infusing Eye Concentrate

  1. Pingback: Featuring supplementary skincare – essence lotions, pre-serums, facial oils, eye serums, and more! | *Maddy Loves

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

