Review: L’Occitane en Provence Almond Velvet Serum for the Body

L'Occitane Almond Velvet Serum review

Today I’m reviewing my first ever body serum, the Almond Velvet Serum by L’Occitane en Provence, newly release for spring 2015. This body serum claims to improve five different skin concerns for the body:  dryness, skin slackening, lack of tonicity, fine lines and skin irregularities. It’s formulated with four different components of sweet almond – the oil, seed extract, leaf cell extract, and bud extract, all sourced from the south of France, as well as rosa centifolia (provence rose) bud extract.

The L’Occitane Almond Velvet Serum (C$52) is truly a luxury product. From the heavy glass bottle to the silky rich texture, it just feels like an expensive product that’s a pleasure to use. It has the texture of a gel-lotion with a light powdery-floral scent that dissipates quickly after a few minutes. I’ve been using this off-and-on for a few weeks (mostly after gym workouts when I could benefit most from additional skin toning), and I’m on the fence about it. I haven’t noticed any tightening of the skin, or relief from fine lines or stretch marks. It does leave my skin feeling silky smooth and very nicely hydrated, diminishing the appearance of any skin concerns but not eradicating them.

My biggest concern with this product is that it’s quite pricey. It is a body serum, and you get 100mL of product for C$52. I was applying this on my whole body before but I ended up using about 10 pumps, which is the equivalent of approximately 1.5cm shaved off the top of the bottle. I went through this stuff very quickly, to say the least. I ended up just applying it to placed where I needed more toning, such as my thighs, stomach, and upper arm area – this definitely helped me cut down on the amount of product I used.

It does contain a lot of good ingredients, so I can see why it’s so expensive, but I don’t think I will repurchase because I will probably go through many bottles of this before seeing real results. As such, unless you have a lot of money to burn, I wouldn’t recommend this product. The texture is really lovely but I really can’t justify the price, given how fast I went through the bottle.

Ingredients:

L'Occitane Almond Velvet Serum ingredients
L'Occitane Almond Velvet Serum review
L'Occitane Almond Velvet Serum review

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

