Review + swatches + look: Too Faced Natural Matte Eye Palette

Too Faced Natural Matte Eye Palette review

Because a girl can never have too many good, neutral palettes, I am here to review the Too Faced Cosmetics Natural Matte Eye Palette! This delightful little palette retails for $48 CAD, and comes with six smaller, darker shadows and three larger, neutral shadows. The palette offers a whole arsenal of warm-toned nudes that are universally flattering on all skin tones.

I simply cannot say enough good things about this palette! As someone who typically prefers shimmery eyeshadows, I am incredibly impressed with both the versatility and the ease of application of these matte shades. To create a quick, simple look, you really can’t go wrong with sweeping one of the larger, nude shades across your entire lid and then picking a single color from the right-hand side to accentuate your crease.

Too Faced Natural Matte Eye Palette review

Heaven is likely my least favorite shade of the bunch, as I find it a little too softly pigmented for a highlight shade. Meanwhile, Honey Butter has very orange pay-off when applied to the lid, so I often find myself skipping it altogether.  The payoff on Lace Teddy also isn’t quite as nice as on the other shades. On the other hand, I can’t get enough of Risqué and Strapless! Generally I use the two shades together to create a smoky eye, but if I need something a little more natural I simply pair Strapless with Nudie for a more day-friendly look.

Too Faced Natural Matte Eye Palette review

My only reservations with this product are mostly related to its packaging. The compact itself is a metal tin, however the top lid is fragile and flimsy. I try to be extra careful when opening it up because I can easily see the hinge breaking if you weren’t being delicate with it. Additionally, I don’t love the names of the shadows – I know it can’t be easy naming all the subtle variations of an entire brand’s eyeshadow line, but these names feel really silly and young to me. “Sexspresso”, “Strapless”? They seem to be shades that would appear on makeup for teens, rather than for an adult brand.

That being said, the shadows themselves perform exceptionally well and strike the right balance between being pigmented enough on their own, while still allowing you the option to build-up their intensity with multiple coats. Overall, these shadows stay put through a busy work day and provide an excellent range of matte, nude tones that can be played either up or down. For $48 CAD, I think the Natural Matte palette is an excellent choice and a great value.

Too Faced Natural Matte Eye Palette review

The swatches

Heaven, Lace Teddy and Nudie

Too Faced Natural Matte Eye Palette swatches

Cashmere Bunny, Sexpresso, Strapless, Risque, Honey Butter, and Chocolate Cookie

Too Faced Natural Matte Eye Palette swatches

The look

In the images I am wearing “Lace Teddy” all across my lids, with “Heaven” as a highlight for my inner crease and brow bone. In my outer crease I am wearing “Cashmere Bunny”, with a hint of “Risqué” for emphasis.

Too Faced Natural Matte Eye Palette review
Too Faced Natural Matte Eye Palette review
Too Faced Natural Matte Eye Palette review

Have you tried any of the Too Faced palettes?

This post was written by Liza

7 thoughts on “Review + swatches + look: Too Faced Natural Matte Eye Palette

  1. Love the eye look you’ve done here Liza! The colors of this palette are right up my alley and that’s a really good price considering you’re getting 9 shadows.

  2. this is such a beautiful neutral palette! the warm browns look lovely combined with the cooler ones! I’ve swatched it in Sephora and thought of it, but I went for the Charlotte Tilbury The Sophisticate and the Tom Ford Cocoa Mirage instead! LOL
    #makeupsnob
    I hope you’re having a lovely week this far lovely!
    lots of xx, Annie | Annie’s Beauty

    • I always vote Charlotte Tilbury, Annie! And Tom Ford must be so nice too. This is definitely more of an affordable palette compared to the two you picked up haha.

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

