Review: Guerlain Meteorites Oxygen Care, the first skincare product from the Meteorites range

Guerlain Meteorites Oxygen Care review

The first ever skincare item released in the Guerlain Meteorites range, the Meteorites Oxygen Care is a moisturizer and radiance booster. It’s a fluid gel-cream with white pearly sheen to blur surface imperfections and create the look of luminous, flawless skin.

Long story short, I do not recommend the Guerlain Meteorites Oxygen Care as a moisturizer. When I first received it, I was confused about what this product was supposed to do – is a moisturizer, a primer, something else? It comes in a 30mL bottle which is small for facial moisturizer. The main thing is that the Meteorites Oxygen Care isn’t very moisturizing at all. I have dehydrated normal-combination skin, and especially with the summer season here, I expected to not need as much help in terms of facial moisture as I normally would, but this one just didn’t deliver very much in terms of hydration. I’ve been using it regularly every morning in combination with another hydrating serum in order for my skin to not feel tight or flaky.

It is scented with the usual light powder fragrance of violets, a signature in all Guerlain products. I found the scent to be unusually overpowering. While it does dissipate, it didn’t dissipate long enough for me not be bothered by it. In addition, I’m generally not a fan of makeup ingredients, i.e. the white pearl, in skincare products. I’d prefer my skincare to only have skincare ingredients in it because the way I remove my makeup and the way I cleanse my makeup-free skin is very different, so it’s a personal preference to have the two separate.

Guerlain Meteorites Oxygen Care review

What I do like about this is that it helps to create a smoother, more luminous canvas for makeup or to wear alone on weekends. The white pearl polymers do a good job at blending into the skin to help blur imperfections; it’s super subtle and barely noticeable, but there is a tinge more light reflecting off the skin.

All in all, I’d define this more as a makeup product with skincare properties, rather than a pure skincare product. I felt like it just didn’t deliver in terms of its skincare promises, but the makeup benefits were great. If you’re okay with the fact that it’s more makeup, and you’re looking for a makeup product with skincare benefits to use in conjunction with the rest of your Guerlain Meteorites products, or if you have combination or oily skin and don’t need too much hydration, then you will like the Meteorites Oxygen Care.

Guerlain Meteorites Oxygen Care is available now in the U.S., and will be available soon in Canada in June.

Guerlain Meteorites Oxygen Care review
Guerlain Meteorites Oxygen Care review

5 thoughts on “Review: Guerlain Meteorites Oxygen Care, the first skincare product from the Meteorites range

  1. I kind of want this just for the scent! They probably should have called this product an essence or lotion like the pre-serum step in Japanese skincare rather than a moisturizer.

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

