Review + swatch + look – Clinique Beyond Perfecting Foundation + Concealer

Clinique Beyond Perfecting Foundation + Concealer review

Clinique’s Beyond Perfecting Foundation + Concealer (C$34 for 30mL) is the perfect base product to use when you’re running short on time. This creamy, whipped texture foundation touts 24-hours breathable wear that’s ideal for very dry to combination oily skin types. It’s oil free, providing full coverage without clogging pores.

It comes in a tall glass bottle with a doe-foot applicator that helps to control how much product to apply. You only need a tiny bit to spread on your face, and one “dip” of the doe-foot applicator gives you more than enough product for your entire face, plus some for double duty concealing.

Clinique Beyond Perfecting Foundation + Concealer review

I’ve been using this in the shade 4 Creamwhip, which is a neutral light beige that’s a very good match for my MAC NC25 skintone. The texture is quite lightweight for a full coverage foundation. I absolutely love how creamy it is, blending into my skin very easily and creating a smooth canvas for the rest of my make-up. Coverage is medium to full, although I’ve been wearing it more on the medium side because I generally prefer a more natural base. You can easily build this up to create full coverage without looking cakey or heavy.

I’ve been using my fingers to blend this into my skin, dabbing a bit of foundation on my forehead, each cheek, nose, and chin, and then blending out like I would do for moisturizer. The finish is ultra perfecting, smoothing out my pores and covering any minor blemishes on the skin – almost like an airbrushed effect. Emphasize that a little goes a super long way; it’s ultra blendable so it’s easy to go overboard and end up with a mask-like effect on your face.

The one thing I dislike about this foundation is that it can cling to any dry spots that are on my face. I was going through a dry chin period while testing this foundation and I found that it really did not sit well on any drier parts of the face. You have to make sure to thoroughly moisturize beforehand, otherwise the foundation may not adhere or set properly. In addition, this is available in 20 shades from a light pink-toned beige to very dark. Although the shade range seems very big, it seems to start off rather dark already since I wear the 2nd lightest shade available, and it’s not even that light. I could probably get away with wearing the lightest shade Alabaster, except that it’s too pink-toned for me.

Overall, I am in love with this foundation. I believe that a full coverage foundation is something every woman should have in their makeup bag for those occasions where coverage more coverage is needed. The Clinique Beyond Perfecting Foundation + Concealer is a fantastic option. You can get yours now at Sephora, the Bay, Shoppers Drug Mart, and Holt Renfrew.

The swatch

Clinique Beyond Perfecting Foundation + Concealer review
Clinique Beyond Perfecting Foundation + Concealer review

The look

Wearing Clinique Beyond Perfecting Foundation + Concealer in 4 Creamwhip

Clinique Beyond Perfecting Foundation + Concealer review

Clinique Beyond Perfecting Foundation + Concealer review

Clinique Beyond Perfecting Foundation + Concealer review

11 thoughts on “Review + swatch + look – Clinique Beyond Perfecting Foundation + Concealer

  1. I recently swatched this (Creamwhip seemed the closest to my skintone, as well) and was thinking of trying it out. Your warning about it clinging to dry bits is putting me off, though. I am no stranger to dry skin, even in the summer! Nice review and pics!

    • Thank you! I think the main thing is just to exfoliate and moisturize your skin on a regular basis. The finish is truly beautiful though, so maybe sometimes having a bit of cling on dry skin isn’t the worst πŸ˜›

  2. I love this foundation, but I was actually disappointed by the shade range– especially coming from Clinique. I have fair skin (though, not THE fairest ever– typically I wear the second or third lightest foundation shade in a range) and even the lightest shade in this range is too dark for me. I also found that it oxidized after an hour or so, making it even darker! I really love how quick and easy it its to use, but I just can’t get past how poor a color match it is for me. I’m definitely jealous that you’ve got one that matches your skin tone!

    • Yes, I agree that the colour range leaned more dark – I probably could have worn Alabaster except it was slightly too pink for me. I didn’t find that it oxidized as much, but it might be the skin type/humidity in the air as well. My skin is generally on the drier side and my office is very dry (air conditioned air!). I’m sorry to hear that you couldn’t find the right match for you.

    • I applied it using fingers only – a tiny bit goes a long way so make sure your skin is properly moisturized beforehand, just dab a bit on each cheek and forehead, then blend out.

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

