Review: Guerlain Meteorites Rainbow Pearls for summer 2015

Guerlain Meteorites Rainbow Pearls summer edition review for summer 2015

TL;DR – If you are a Guerlain Meteorites fan, or if you’ve been waiting for the “right” variation of Meteorites to get, you need the Meteorites Rainbow Pearls. I am a proud Guerlain Meteorites fan. I own several Meteorites products, including the Pearls, limited edition and permanent pressed Meteorites compacts, Meteorites Blush, and the beloved Meteorites Baby Glow foundation. I am very happy to be adding the GuerlainΒ Meteorites Rainbow Pearls (C$71 for 25g) to my collection. The Rainbow Pearls version contains:

  • Mint pearls to reduce redness;
  • Fuchsia pearls to brighten the complexion;
  • Bronze pearls to brighten and warm up the skin;
  • Champagne pearls to even out the skin tone;
  • White pearls to illuminate; and
  • Gold pearls to warm up the complexion.

Guerlain Meteorites Rainbow Pearls review for summer 2015

I found the pearls in this Meteorites variation to be less shimmery than the Meteorites Compact from the spring 2015 Les Tendres collection. The finish is mostly matte with a subtle glow, which looks great for a fresh faced summer look. I’ve been using this interchangeably with the Meteorites Compact and I’m finding myself reaching for this more and more over the compact because of that subtler effect. With Rainbow Pearls, I can use this as my setting powder and easily over-apply, without it looking glittery or anything other than natural. The Meteorites Rainbow Pearls are housed in a white lacquered metal container with a gold lid. The inner puff is a baby pink shade that’s super cute. This is probably my favourite Meteorites container as it’s just very young and fresh looking, instead of the usual chunky silver or gold metal that’s more luxurious but older looking. I feel like with the release of the Rainbow Pearls, Guerlain is also catering to a younger population who are still very much into luxury cosmetics. The gold lid retains a lot of that luxury feeling that comes with most Guerlain products, keeping true to the brand’s identity.

Guerlain Meteorites Rainbow Pearls review for summer 2015

With so many variations of Guerlain Meteorites, which one should you get?

You should get the Meteorites Rainbow Pearls if:

  • You collect limited edition Meteorites;
  • You have always been intrigued by Meteorites and have been holding out for that “perfect one”; and/or
  • You have a more shimmery version of Meteorites (for example, the pressed compact) and want something subtler.

In terms of the Meteorites Rainbow Pearls versus the Meteorites Compact, here are the pros and cons of each:

  • Meteorites Rainbow Pearls:
    • PRO – less shimmery, more product/value for the money you pay
    • CON – not travel friendly, may be duplicative if you already own a Meteorites Pearls from the permanent collection
  • Meteorites Compact:
    • PRO – travel friendly, can still get this even if you own the Meteorites Pearls
    • CON – less product/value for the money you pay, more shimmery

Are you tempted yet? Will you be adding the Guerlain Meteorites Rainbow Pearls to your collection?

Guerlain Meteorites Rainbow Pearls summer edition review for summer 2015 Guerlain Meteorites Rainbow Pearls review for summer 2015 Guerlain Meteorites Rainbow Pearls summer edition review for summer 2015

16 thoughts on “Review: Guerlain Meteorites Rainbow Pearls for summer 2015

  1. Omg this is so crazy beautiful. Why couldn’t the Perles de Blush have come in a container like this? I think I’d have to try this one out b/c I like to be able to “see” some effect from my makeup and this might be so subtle it’s hard to tell. How do you think they compare to the Ambient lighting powders?

    • I know!!! The Perles de Blush should have come in a mini version of this container, it would have been super beautiful. I think you can still see the effect, there is some shimmer but it’s not super noticeable unless you apply a LOT. I think for travel or when I need more glow, I will take the Ambient Lighting Powder because my face looks pretty luminous when I wear that. This one is definitely subtler (I find, but I don’t apply too much of it).

  2. This is gorgeous! I only have the pre-2014 Meteorites – before they changed the formulation to be softer (and 5g more product!) I’m intrigued by this one but I won’t be purchasing. Even ONE of these will last me a lifetime! Thanks for the beautiful pictures and the review. πŸ™‚

  3. The Rainbow Pearls are too similar to Teint Rose (which I already own) but I’d choose the LE packaging over the regular silver anytime! It’s just so much more eye catching than the silver!

  4. And how would you compare the Rainbow Pearls to Clair 2 in standard collection? I mean in terms of colour and shimmer.

  5. Oh yes I am tempted! I only have the pressed version and I love it! The brightening effect is subtle but there, the kind that I like! πŸ˜€ The packaging of this one is to-die-for, though. So intricate and luxurious!

  6. Pingback: Guerlain Spring 2016 – all about the Meteorites featuring Meteorites Base & Meteorites Voyage Compact Powder | *Maddy Loves

  7. Pingback: Review: Guerlain Parure Gold Foundation, makeup with skincare benefits! | *Maddy Loves

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

