Extending the life of your makeup with Make Up For Ever Step 1 Skin Equalizer Primers and Mist & Fix Make-up Setting Spray

Make Up For Ever recently released a couple of makeup products that will help to perfect and extend the life of your base makeup. Any makeup lover knows that the key to beautiful makeup is a flawless base, and Make Up For Ever has made that so much more achievable with the use of their new Step 1 Skin Equalizer primers, as well as the Mist & Fix Make-up Setting Spray.

First step – Make Up For Ever Step 1 Skin Equalizer

Make Up For Ever Step 1 Skin Equalizer review

After your skincare routine and before applying any makeup, start with the Make Up For Ever Step 1 Skin Equalizer (C$43 each). It comes in a whopping range of 10 different formulas to help treat, balance, neutralize, and perfect the skin even before you apply any coverage on top. The two that I have are to treat two of my main skin concerns – dehydration and redness. The Hydrating Primer is a clear primer that’s aimed to add moisture to your skin and restore your skin’s balance. The Redness Correcting Primer is a green-tinted primer that neutralizes any redness in the skin.

The number one reason why I love these primers is that they come in so many different formulas, to the point that you can mix and match the primer for each section of your face. Yes, you can do it that scientifically if you have lots of time on your hands. The second reason why I love these primers is that it’s extremely light, gentle, and not silicone-y at all (it does contain silicone in it though), but still does a good job at what it’s supposed to do. The Hydrating Primer helps to create a smoother canvas for my skin. While it doesn’t solve my problems of dehydration, it provides almost like a cushion for the foundation to sit on. The Redness Correcting Primer has just enough green tint in it to correct most of my redness, but doesn’t leave my skin completely looking drained. Both primers sink into the skin quickly without leaving any residue on top, meaning you can apply foundation right away.

In addition to the Hydrating and Redness Correcting Primers, it also comes in Mattifying, Nourishing (for ultra dry and/or aging skin), as well as five Radiant Primers to help brighten and correct skintones depending on your skin colour.

Hydrating Primer ingredients:

Make up for ever hydrating primer ingredients

Redness Correcting Primer ingredients:

Make up for ever green primer ingredients

Final step – Make Up For Ever Mist & Fix Make-up Setting Spray

Make Up For Ever Mist and Fix Make-up Setting Spray

After applying my primer, foundation, powder, blush, and eye makeup, but before my lipstick, I like to use the Make Up For Ever Mist & Fix Make-up Setting Spray (C$34 for 125mL). I do one or two spritzes on my face, and I either let it air dry, or if I’m in a rush, I pat down with a clean tissue.

While it is touted to be a makeup setting spray, I like it because it helps to reduce the powdery-ness of my makeup and also helps to make my skin look and feel more hydrated. Like I mentioned before, my skin is very dehydrated so product can sometimes catch onto dry patches on my skin, or sink into my pores if there isn’t enough product to “cushion” it. The Hydrating Primer helps this, but the Mist & Fix Make-up Setting Spray takes it to the next level. The finished look is super natural and everything is blended into my skin.

The downside is I haven’t noticed that this lengthened the wear of my makeup by the 12 hour claim it has. It does make it last marginally longer, but I still need to blot after a few hours and then usually the makeup slides off with the blotting process. Fortunately, this doesn’t taint my view of it because I still like using it as a hydrating finishing spray. I have read a lot of reviews where people are saying this product is amazing for extending make-up wear time, so it’s just one of those your mileage may vary products. You can get a 30mL bottle of this at Sephora for a pretty good price so there’s no harm in giving it a try.

Make Up For Ever Mist and Fix Make-up Setting Spray

The Step 1 Skin Equalizer and Mist & Fix Make-Up Setting Spray are both available now at Make Up For Ever boutiques, as well as at Sephora online and in store!

 

6 thoughts on “Extending the life of your makeup with Make Up For Ever Step 1 Skin Equalizer Primers and Mist & Fix Make-up Setting Spray

  1. I haven’t noticed it extends my makeup either. If you like it as a finishing, hydrating spray, you might really like MAC Fix+. I find it better for that, and it smells better. I think it’s also cheaper.

    • Yes, I’ve tried MAC Fix+ but I wasn’t too fond of the texture – I find it slightly thicker than just water so I didn’t continue to buy it.

  2. Good timing! I’ll be talking about the MUFE Step 1 Skin Equalizer later next week, too! I have the pink tube for radiant skin and it definitely brightens up my face the way I want it to! Love it! 🙂 Like you, I’m also glad that it’s not the silicone-y slippery type. My skin doesn’t react well with such texture at all.

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

