Celebrating Swimco’s 40th anniversary + e-commerce launch!

IMG_5714

Swimco is western Canada’s leading retailer of swim apparel and accessories. A family-owned business, it was founded in 1975, meaning that they are celebrating their 40th anniversary this year! The matriarch of the company, Corinne Forseth, created Swimco from her basement as a mail-order swimwear business, and since then, Swimco has developed into a an operation with 22 retail locations in western Canada. In 2014, Swimco launched its e-commerce website, essentially going back to its roots in the mail-order business, and has become readily available to customers across Canada.

I’ve shopped at Swimco brick-and-mortar retail, and their customer service is really great. I remember shopping at the Metrotown location last year in preparation for my Mexico trip and the experience was very pleasant – the salespeople were very knowledgeable, never pushy, and also provided me with a variety of options to suit my body type. Swimwear shopping is extremely daunting, especially on someone like me who does not have a supermodel body, but Swimco has really turned it into a positive experience.

Recently, I was offered the opportunity to experience shopping via the Swimco e-commerce website. The Swimco website offers a plethora of brands, as well as wide selection of styles. You can choose to shop by brand, such as Seafolly, Azura Australia, Speedo, BCBGeneration, and more, or by style, such as tankini, one-piece, fitness, and more. The website also offers styles for men and children, in addition to women’s styles. You might think it would be difficult to shop swimwear without trying it on, but the Swimco website is amazing in that it offers size guides by the brand (not an umbrella size guide), because we all know that sizes vary by brand; as well as a customer service “Fit Expert” live chat who will be able to answer your questions about any particular brand.

I am particularly biased towards Seafolly suits. I currently own three swimsuits and all of them are by Seafolly – I just love the cute designs as well as a pretty prints that are released every season, and I also love the availability of sizes for bigger busts. One of my bestest friends (and blog contributor) Liza swears by Seafolly, and she says after even years of wear and wash, they still hold up extremely well, which is also what convinced me to continually purchase their suits.

IMG_5715

The design that really caught my eye was their Vintage Holiday print – I just fell in love with the U-Tube Bandeau Top and the Roll Top Retro Bikini Bottom (scroll to the bottom of the page). I have the U-Tube Bandeau top in the normal size, but I was really excited to see it being released in a size more suitable for bigger busts, providing more support via bigger cups as well as underwires. Keep in mind that the sizes on the Swimco website are listed in the Canadian sizing, not the Australian sizing on the label of the swimsuit.

Swimco1

Website tip – if you want to check if there is stock of your size at a brick-and-mortar store near you, you can click on the size on the product page, then click “check in store availability.” If the size you want isn’t in stock on the website, you can do a live chat (or leave a message if its after hours) with a Fit Expert to ask them to check store stock. The Fit Expert live chats are available from 8:30AM to 5:00PM MST on Monday to Friday, closed on Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays (but you can leave a message and they will get back to you the morning of the next business day).

I ended up ordering the U-Tube Bandeau Top in a size 12, which I thought was the Australian size 12 (Canadian size 10 or US size 8) but turned out to be a Canadian size 12, meaning it was one size too big for me. This meant that I got to experience the speedy and convenient exchange service offered by Swimco! I did a live chat with the Fit Expert to let her know that I need an exchange, and because the size 10 was sold out online, the Fit Expert managed to track down a size 10 at a retail location, and also offered to transfer the top to the store that’s most convenient for me to get to. After a few days, the store called me to let me know that my suit had arrived, and the exchange process was just super easy. In the end, I was very happy with the Swimco online service, and the entire ordering process.

IMG_5718

The U-Tube Bandeau Top in size 10 was the perfect fit for my 34DD size chest. While it is a bandeau-style top, it comes with underwire support for those in need of more support. I love that the suit is also lined in a fluor pink that’s super whimsical and cute. The bandeau style doesn’t provide me with a lot of cleavage, but I prefer this type of understated look that provides more coverage and support rather than cleavage. I also ordered myself the Twist Front bottom from Seafolly in navy to pair with the Vintage Holiday print – the navy colour goes perfectly with the blue floral print.

IMG_5719

If you’re a Canadian in need of a large selection of swimsuits for every size, and want somewhere that offers free shipping for orders over $100, easy and convenient exchanges or returns, you should check out Swimco!

Thanks to Swimco for providing me with a gift card to shop!

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

