A love letter to face masks, featuring LUSH Mask of Magnaminty, Nuxe Bio Beauté Vitamin-Rich Detox Mask, and Guerlain Blanc de Perle White P.E.A.R.L. Sleeping Mask

I loooove face masks. I don’t know if it’s just because I’ve been following Asian skincare now for over 10 years and face masks are a big focus in Asian skincare, or if it’s just because I’m lazy and face masks are a quick and easy way to perk up your skin. Today I’m sharing with you three face masks I’ve been playing with lately. Although I’m not 100% sold on all of them, I still enjoy using them on a regular basis (yes, even the ones I don’t love) because they’re super fun to use, and is a quick, easy, and inexpensive way to treat yo self after a long day of work.

LUSH Mask of Magnaminty

LUSH Mask of Magnaminty review

A favourite recent discovery thanks to the awesome recommendation by LUSH PR girl Maram, LUSH Mask of Magnaminty is an ode to honey-lovers everywhere. The first ingredient on this moisturizing deep-cleansing mask is honey, followed by kaolin (clay). It sounds like such an oxymoron – how can a deep-cleansing mask be hydrating? But yes, LUSH Mask of Magnaminty combines the deep cleansing power of kaolin with the hydrating, antibacterial and antioxidant properties of honey. It also contains ground up azuki beans (aka red beans) for that extra bit of exfoliating power. It is an absolute pleasure to use, not only does it smell like I’m slathering mint chocolate all over my face, it doesn’t set to become a hard, powdery mess like other clay masks, and it leaves my skin feeling super smooth and my pores feeling tighter. My skin is never stripped, rather just feels clean and comfortable. I use this twice a week, or the night before an event for a quick pick-me-up.

Recommend? highly.

Mask of Magnaminty is available in two sizes, priced at C$12.95 to C$24.95. I’m pretty sure I’ll be stocking up with the large size once I finish up my current jar.

LUSH Mask of Magnaminty review

Nuxe Bio Beauté Vitamin-Rich Detox Mask

Nuxe Bio Beauté Vitamin-Rich Detox Mask review

The Nuxe Bio Beaute Vitamin-Rich Detox Mask (C$27) is a new release from late last year. It’s one of the more interesting masks I’ve used, as it has the texture of… very thick and sticky honey. It’s less thick and less sticky once it’s warmed up via your skin, and it has the scent of fresh orange water. Upon contact with water, it actually emulsifies and rinses off completely clean with no greasy feeling. It’s definitely cool to use, but I don’t know if I found it to do anything to my skin. I didn’t notice any spectacular hydrating, smoothing, or cleansing properties. I have been reading some other reviews on the internet and it seems like everyone else really likes this mask, so maybe I’m doing something wrong. That being said, if it’s working for other users, then it must be doing something right. Bio Beaute by Nuxe is available at Shoppers Drug Mart, so if you have one near you, you should see if they can offer up a sample to try first before committing.

Recommend? Nope, sorry, but do try it out for yourself!

Nuxe Bio Beauté Vitamin-Rich Detox Mask reviewNuxe Bio Beauté Vitamin-Rich Detox Mask ingredients

Guerlain Blanc de Perle White P.E.A.R.L. Sleeping Mask

Guerlain Blanc de Perle Sleeping Mask review

New in Canada for this year is the Guerlain Blanc de Perle range. You can read the rest of my reviews on this range here. The Blanc de Perle White P.E.A.R.L. Sleeping Mask is a new addition to the line and is touted to “counteract the pigmentary damage caused by UV radiation during the day.” This face mask was my least favourite product out of the entire Blanc de Perle range. It is a light lotion/emulsion that comes with a flat plastic, spatula-like applicator. I found the applicator very gimmicky – I ended up just squeezing it onto my fingers and massaging it into my skin with my hands. Even so, I felt like this sleeping mask did not increase radiance throughout the night, and actually left my skin feeling tighter and drier than if I had just used the Blanc de Perle night cream on its own (the texture is significantly lighter than the night cream). I even tried applying more, and more of it, just to see if I was supposed to use a thicker layer to “protect” my skin throughout the night, but to no avail. And then couple that with the $100 price tag… I guess I should say that you should all try it out for yourself in person before deciding whether or not to buy. Check out a Guerlain counter and ask for a sample first, otherwise you might end up disappointed like me.

Recommend? No

Guerlain Blanc de Perle Sleeping Mask review
Guerlain Blanc de Perle Sleeping Mask ingredients

2 thoughts on “A love letter to face masks, featuring LUSH Mask of Magnaminty, Nuxe Bio Beauté Vitamin-Rich Detox Mask, and Guerlain Blanc de Perle White P.E.A.R.L. Sleeping Mask

    • The Lush one is SO GOOD. What do you mean last very long? I’ve used my pot maybe 3-4 times and I’m about halfway through. In terms of expiry, I can’t remember the expiry date but I’ve had mine since maybe January or February and it’s still good. Plus it’s self preserving so you don’t need to leave it in the fridge and be worried that someone is going to accidentally eat it XD

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

