Review + swatches: Revlon Photoready Insta-Fix & Photoready Prime + Anti Shine

Today I am very excited to be reviewing the new Revlon Photoready Insta-Fix stick foundation, as well as the Revlon Photoready Prime + Anti Shine! I am a big fan of drugstore make up, and along with Marcelle, Revlon makes some of my absolute favorite products! I am happy to report that these two new additions did not disappoint in the least.

Revlon Photoready Insta-Fix review

The Revlon Photoready Insta-Fix is a foundation stick which is meant to be used as either a concealer or an over-all foundation product, and it comes in very handy twist-stick packaging. I absolutely love this product because it is the perfect medium between being matte and shimmery. It isn’t drying, but also doesn’t leave my skin feeling or looking too greasy/shiny after use. I’ve worn a full-face of this foundation during a solid work/school day and it seems to be long-lasting and non-creasing.

I received the product in two shades: 110 (Ivory) and 140 (Nude). If I am to be honest with myself, I would have to admit that the Ivory is (sadly) my perfect shade. However, in a constant effort to not be the whitest-whitey ever I wear copious amounts of self-tanner, so in my not-so-natural state, the Nude shade is actually a better match. I mostly use the Ivory stick on my under-eye area as a concealer, and I have found that the slightly lighter color helps to bounce some light under my eyes!

Revlon Photoready Insta-Fix review

It is worth mentioning that this foundation isn’t very high-coverage, which is perfect for me, as I tend to skip wearing foundation most days altogether. The stick packaging of the product also means that I can quickly swipe it on my nose and cheekbones and quickly blend it out with my fingers without worrying about evening out the full-coverage of a liquid foundation.

Overall, this is an excellent new product that has been ceremoniously added to my make-up bag. I will definitely repurchase

Swatches (110 on left, 140 on right):

Revlon Photoready Insta-Fix review

Revlon Photoready Prime + Anti Shine is a transparent foundation primer that has a waxy consistency and should be applied underneath foundation to help it adhere better. The primer also has the effect of reducing shine, and in fact, I’ve even tried swiping it along my t-zone on top of foundation in order to further mattify my look.

Revlon Photoready Prime + Anti Shine review

This is an over-all an excellent primer that glides smoothly and easily along my skin without leaving any visible residue. Because I have some premature aging and dehydration on my under-eye area, I am a big fan of using primers to prevent my concealer and foundation from settling in fine lines and wrinkles.

My only complaint with this product is its packaging. I feel like the sponge provided doesn’t allow me to grab enough product, and instead of smoothing the primer all over my skin in a fine layer, it absorbs most of it. Instead, I’ve started scooping the product out with my fingers, warming it up in the palm of my hand, and simply applying it all-over with my fingertips. Since the consistency of the primer is roughly equal to the consistency of the Revlon Photoready Insta-Fix stick, I think a much better alternative to its relatively cumbersome box and useless latex sponge would be a twist-stick container, like with the foundations. This would also enable me to toss it in my purse and re-apply to areas that may get shiny throughout the day.

Revlon Photoready Prime + Anti Shine review

 

Have you tried either the Revlon Photoready Insta-Fix or the Photoready Prime + Anti Shine, and what do you think about them?

 

 

2 thoughts on “Review + swatches: Revlon Photoready Insta-Fix & Photoready Prime + Anti Shine

  1. I’ve been meaning to try the primer as well! I’ve never tried one in a pan format before. Using your fingers sounds like a good trick.

    • I haven’t tried a pan format primer either, but the one good thing I can think of is that you don’t have to worry about airline liquid restrictions when travelling 😄

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

