Paul & Joe Beaute now available in Vancouver! Review + swatches + look with the Paul & Joe Lipstick and Liquid Eye Liner

paul joe beauty review

Japanese beauty lovers rejoice! Paul & Joe Beaute is now available at three select locations on the West Coast – Shoppers Drug Mart on Burrard (beside the giant Victoria’s Secret) in Downtown Vancouver, B.C.; Shoppers Drug Mart at Richmond Centre in Richmond, B.C.; and Shoppers Drug Mart at Chinook Centre in Calgary. To welcome them to Vancouver, I’d like to share with you two new products from Paul and Joe Beaute (you can see past reviews I’ve done on Paul & Joe Beaute here), the limited edition Lipstick from the Spring 2015 collection called 086 Rosebud, and the permanent Liquid Eye Liner in 01 Black.

The new Paul & Joe Lipsticks come in two separate “sections” – the lipstick refill (C$20) and the lipstick case (C$7). For their limited edition launches, Paul & Joe has introduced several limited edition paper cases. The one I have is in the 013 design which features clean lines which looks super mod. Normally, their lipstick cases are plastic, and I have to be honest and say that I’m not a big fan of the paper cases because they’re just not as durable as the plastic ones, albeit they are prettier and more personalizable.

paul joe lipstick spring 2015 review

The limited edition spring Lipstick in 086 Rosebud is a sheer red with subtle red glitter. This is the lipstick version of Dorothy’s ruby red slippers, as it is very shimmery in the tube and just looks super glamorous. Once swatched or applied, it is a lot sheered and the glitter isn’t as noticeable, making this is a very wearable lipstick shade. The formula is a very light gel texture, while it builds up a little bit, it will always been a very light wash of colour on the lips.ย I found the lipstick slightly drying, which is unfortunate because I have a few Paul & Joe lipsticks from several years ago that I love and wear often, and I don’t believe they’re as drying as this one. I might just be the gel texture formula, compared to the ones I have which are creams. Nevertheless, the formulation does vary so I would recommend checking these out in store to see if they work well on your lips. The regular line contains 25 permanent lipstick shades, and the limited edition spring release also has 6 shades, so there are plenty to choose from.

paul joe lipstick 086 rosebud review

Also just a warning – when you’re placing the lipstick refill into the casing, make sure to press down on the refill instead of trying to twist it into place. I was twisting mine, which was a big mistake because I ended up smooshing the top of the lipstick into the cap. Just gently press it into the case and you should feel it secure into place.

paul joe lipstick spring 2015 review

The Liquid Eye Liner in 01 Blackย (C$26) an absolute pleasure to use. It has a brush-type application that is ultra thin so you can apply a very thin line very precisely and close to the lash line. The black ink is very black, meaning I just have to go over the line once and you get a deep black line. It dries fast, so I don’t have to keep fanning my eyes or keeping my eyes half open to wait for it to dry. The lasting power is also great, staying in place for the entire day without budging.

paul joe liquid eye liner review
paul joe liquid eye liner review
paul joe liquid eye liner review

As a fan of Paul & Joe Beaute for years, I’m really excited to see them come to Canada with Shoppers Drug Mart (yay Optimum points!). If you’re new to Paul & Joe Beaute, I also recommend checking out their foundations and primers (good coverage, good staying power, very natural looking) and their skincare (Japanese skincare is always very innovative). Paul & Joe Beaute is available atย Shoppers Drug Mart on Burrard.; Shoppers Drug Mart at Richmond Centre; and Shoppers Drug Mart at Chinook Centre in Calgary.

The swatches

paul joe lipstick 086 rosebud swatch

Another shot to show you how thin the brush is:

paul joe liquid eye liner swatch

The look

Wearing liquid Eye Liner in 01 Black on eyes, and Lipstick in 086 Rosebud on lips.

paul joe makeup spring 2015 review
paul joe makeup spring 2015 review
paul joe makeup spring 2015 review

9 thoughts on “Paul & Joe Beaute now available in Vancouver! Review + swatches + look with the Paul & Joe Lipstick and Liquid Eye Liner

  1. Pingback: Red lips for all occasions! An overview of eight red lipsticks in different textures and finishes | *Maddy Loves

  2. Pingback: Soft, romantic birthday look featuring Charlotte Tilbury & Shu Uemura (with some mini reviews) | *Maddy Loves

  3. Hi! I love the review- but I was wondering… I have an old lipstick case and I’m looking for a refill for it, but the case is really small and I’m afraid the refill would be too big. I was wondering if there was any chance at all you might tell me the diameter of this refill? I know it’s kind of a strange question, sorry! And thanks!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Pingback: Review + swatch: Amaterasu Liquid Eyeliner | *Maddy Loves

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

