Review: OGX Quenched Sea Mineral Moisture Shampoo, Conditioner, Healing Oil, and Surge Treatment

Today I’m reviewing the OGX Quenced Sea Mineral Moisture line. This hydrating haircare line from OGX was designed for dry skin in mind, formulated with deep sea minerals and sea kelp, as well as green algae. Just as a background on my hair, it is coloured blonde and I also have extensions; due to its dry and brittle nature, I tend to wash it once a week only.

The line claims: “Quench dry, damaged hair with this nutrient rich blend of hydrating sea minerals along with healing green algae to wrap split ends in repairing moisture, while supercharged sea kelp transforms dry, brittle hair into soft supple perfection. Unique blend of sulfate-free surfactants for stress-free hair. Leaves hair refreshed with swish-like movement and super soft shine.”

OGX Quenched Sea Mineral Moisture Shampoo and Conditioner review

OGX Quenched Sea Mineral Moisture Shampoo

Price: 9.99$ CAD

For such an inexpensive product, the Quenched Sea Mineral Moisture Shampoo does a very good job of delivering on its promise. I have been using this product exclusively in my hair-care routine for about a month and a half, and I can definitely see myself repurchasing it in the future.

It is worth noting that the entire Sea Mineral Moisture line has a very unique scent – there are definitely undertones of sea-salt and perhaps even algae. I almost hesitate to define the scent because it very pleasantly reminds me of the ocean breeze, but when I try to put it into words, it sounds far stranger and less pleasant than it actually is. In fact, I have found the scent of the Sea Mineral Moisture line to be refreshing and a nice change from the typical floral profiles of many other haircare products.

As for the performance of the shampoo itself, well, it’s nothing revolutionary. However, I have tried many salon brands that were easily quadruple the cost, with far less satisfactory results. While my hair wasn’t immediately transformed into a Victoria’s Secret model’s hair, I found the Quenched Sea Mineral Moisture Shampoo to be fairly gentle on my brittle, damaged hair and an excellent value to boot.

Ingredients:

OGX Quenched Sea Mineral Moisture Shampoo ingredients

OGX Quenched Sea Mineral Moisture Conditioner

Price: 9.99$ CAD

The conditioner has a smell that is almost identical to the shampoo, and it is relatively rich and creamy in texture. While I have tried other products that have done a better job of completely saturating my damaged, colored hair, the Quenched Sea Mineral Moisture Conditioner is so reasonably priced that it is an excellent alternative for its cost.

Since I perpetually wear hair-extensions and my own hair is heavily colored, I try to wash my hair as infrequently as possible, so generally I always opt for a deep-conditioning masque instead of a regular conditioner. However, if you have not trained your scalp to go up to a week without shampoo, I think this would be a good product for you. It’s definitely nourishing, but not so nourishing that it will leave you hair oily. Overall, I found that I could have personally used more moisture than this product offered so I will probably not repurchase it again.

That being said, I feel like my hair needs are so unique that my ambivalence towards the Quenched Sea Mineral Moisture Conditioner has more to do with me than it does with the performance of the product.

Ingredients:

OGX Quenched Sea Mineral Moisture Conditioner ingredients

OGX Quenched Sea Mineral Moisture Surge Treatment and Healing Oil review

OGX Quenched Sea Mineral Moisture Surge Treatment

Price: 9.99$ CAD

I have saved my favorite product for last! I absolutely love the Quenched Sea Mineral Moisture Surge Treatment as it is basically a deeper, creamier, and more nourishing version of the Quenched Sea Mineral Moisture Conditioner. It is perfect for my extremely dry hair. I use this all-over my hair, making sure to saturate my ends and extensions, as they both miss out on getting the natural oils from my scalp and usually require some extra attention.

However, if your hair is in better condition than mine and tends to get oily quicker, a perfect balance could be reached by using the Quenched Sea Mineral Moisture Conditioner at your scalp, and using the Quenched Sea Mineral Moisture Surge Treatment to saturate the ends of your hair. Then, I suggest putting your hair up in a shower cap and taking a long, relaxing bath. Trust me, after rinsing your hair will feel and smell amazing!

I will definitely repurchase the Quenched Sea Mineral Moisture Surge Treatment again.

Ingredients:

OGX Quenched Sea Mineral Moisture Surge Treatment ingredients

OGX Quenched Sea Mineral Moisture Shimmering Weightless Healing Oil

Price: 9.99$ CAD

The Quenched Sea Mineral Moisture Shimmering Weightless Healing Oil was my least favourite item of the bunch, mainly because after many attempts I could still not get it to work without leaving my hair very greasy-looking. It’s a very strange product; it’s an oil that is similar to a hair serum, only it is lighter in consistency and is dispersed via mist. The instructions on the back advise you to use it before or after styling to give shine to dull, flat hair. I have found that the product definitely does what it promises, it adds shine; however, it also leaves your hair looking incredibly greasy in the process.

Fortunately, this product smells absolutely divine. It has the same kind of refreshing, ocean-breeze scent as the rest of the line, but it is somehow more aromatic. Due to my obsession with the scent I will keep trying to get it to work for me, however simply out of practicality, I will not repurchase it when it’s done.

Ingredients:

OGX Quenched Sea Mineral Moisture Healing Oil ingredients

3 thoughts on “Review: OGX Quenched Sea Mineral Moisture Shampoo, Conditioner, Healing Oil, and Surge Treatment

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

