Top 10 things to be grateful for in 2015

we-tend-to-forget-that-happiness-doesnt-come-as-a-result-of-getting-something-we-dont-have-but-rather-of-recognizing-and-appreciating-what-we-do-have

I was inspired by MizzJ’s post here to list out the things that we’re grateful for. I feel like so far, 2015 has been a transition year for me. Even though it’s only March, there has already been so much change in my life that’s really made me slow down and look around me to see what my life is all about, and where I want my life to me. Due to some personal issues, January and February have been difficult for me, but it’s true when they say when one door closes, many other open up. Through hardships, I’ve been incredibly lucky to discover myself, as well as discover more about what matters in life. So enough rambling, below are the top 10 things that I am grateful for:

  1. My health – yes this is a copy of MizzJ’s top thing, but I’ve realized in the past couple of years how important it is to have a healthy body and live a healthier life. In the past year, I’ve been extra diligent with my health, going for regular doctor checkups, not leaving things to heal on their own and making sure I get checked up if I’m not feeling good, and making sure to take things slow and focus on health first. I gained a bunch of weight in 2014, but over the month of February, I managed to lose all of that, and then some.
  2. Friends & family – it’s true what they say – your best of friends will be there for you through the highs and lows. Not only do they happily celebrate your successes, but they will faithfully be by your side when you’re at your worst. I’ve been extremely fortunate to be blessed with amazing friends who have stood by my side through the times when I’m jumping up and down from joy, as well as the times when I just want to curl up into a ball and cry. While I don’t have very many friends, the ones I do have, I treasure and stay loyal to.
  3. Opportunities – I feel very lucky to be able to work with some of the biggest and best beauty brands in the world. I’ve been blogging for nearly 7 years now and even though blogging is a huge time commitment (usually one whole weekend day a week), I feel very happy doing it because of all the opportunities that I’ve been able to get through blogging. This has made my life a lot more colour (figuratively and literally!) and I feel a lot more fulfilled. The positive energy coming from these opportunities have also helped me look ahead to all the positive things in life, despite the setbacks that have occurred recently.
  4. Ability to fight for what I believe in – I’ve always been the type of person to be anxious and overthink things before I do them, but in the past few months I’ve been more impulsive and acting on my emotions than on my brain. While this can be good or bad, I feel like this method has allowed me to fight for what I truly believe in. If it doesn’t work out, at least I can tell myself that I truly tried, I put in my all, and now I can get over it and move on with my life.
  5. My bed – I’m thankful for the mattress underneath me, the food on my table, and the roof over my head. I’m also thankful that I have a steady job that allows me to (most of the time) sleep in peacefully on the weekends without worrying (too much).
  6. My job – while my job is stressful, it’s relatively stable and I feel like I have okay job security at the moment (*knock on wood*). I’m also grateful for a good boss who is willing to stand by his employees’ sides, and also be open to new ideas and knowledge sharing. I also feel fortunate that I work for a big company that comes with plenty of opportunities for growth domestically and internationally.
  7. Money – I’ve been a lot more diligent with my money in the last year or so, I’ve been eating out less and buying less frivolous things. The biggest thing is that I’ve been more aggressive about paying off my student loans. I’m currently way ahead of my original payment schedule, so I look forward to being debt-free and having the additional disposable income to put towards savings, or other experiences such as travel.
  8. Love – I’m thankful knowing that I am able to love passionately and be loved. I’m thankful that I know when the time comes, I can put myself out there and give it my all. And then if like #4, it doesn’t work out, then I’m free of regrets because I know I did the best I can.
  9. The weather – while Vancouver is rainy 70% or more of the year, I’m super grateful that the weather has been mostly consistently sunny and warm in the last little while, at least compared to the East Coast snow storms. My desk faces a window that looks out to the North Shore mountains and Burrard Inlet in Vancouver, AKA one of the most expensive views of all Vancouver, so when the weather is especially nice, it’s a lovely thing to see and it helps bring up my mood a lot.
  10. YOU GUYS! – I’m so happy to be able to share my ramblings on the internet and have real people read and comment on it. YAY!! It’s been an incredible journey over the last few years – meeting new bloggers who have become really close friends of mine, reading all of your sweet and insightful comments, and seeing my readership increase over time. Blogging has quickly become one of my favourite past-times, and I hope to be doing it for many, many more years to come.

What are you grateful for in 2015?

workshop_hero_happiness_1

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

