Experience: Lumiere Skin Health & Wellness Centre Skinovage Skin Performance Facial featuring Babor products

Lumiere Skin Health & Wellness Centre - Web_MG_7494-Edit

A few weeks ago, I was invited by Lumiere Skin Health & Wellness Centre to experience a Skin Consultation by Reveal Imager, followed by a Skinovage Skin Performance Facial, featuring products from Babor. Lumiere is located conveniently in downtown Vancouver on Granville and Pender, within walking distance of all the major skytrain lines.

The Skin Consultation by Reveal Imager ($40, redeemable on products) step is to assess your skin’s health and your skin’s specific needs using a special digital imager that takes a photo of your face, and then using different light filters, analyzes your skin’s surface as well as beneath the skin’s surface. My skin consultation showed that I had dehydration around my cheeks and forehead, some clogged pores around my nose and chin, and also hyperpigmentation on my cheeks.

The Skinovage Skin Performance Facial ($99) is a personalized facial using products designed to suit your particular skin needs. My skin diagnosis meant that my treatment was designed for treating dehydration and dullness. The Babor products she used on me included (all available for purchase at Lumiere):

  • Hy-Ol + Phytoactive Reactivating to cleanse
  • Phytoactive Reactivating Mask
  • Mild Peeling
  • Algae Active Fluid
  • Anti-Wrinkle Eye Fluid
  • Complex C Cream

This facial was one of the few that I experienced that focused on massage and promoting blood circulation instead of traditional masks that just sit on the face. Marvice, my esthetician, used massage techniques to promote product absorption during each step of the facial process. With the cleansing process, she massaged the Hy-Ol into my skin to make sure that all of the impurities are captured within the oil cleanser, and then properly emulsified using the Phytoactive Reactivating, and wiped off. Marvice also used warm towels followed by a cold towel to help open and close the pores in between each step, which helped to detox my skin and also help with product absorption. I felt like the products weren’t piled on my face one by one and not giving it enough time to sink in, which is a big problem with a lot of other hydrating facials. In the end, I felt like my skin felt super plump and hydrated, and it didn’t feel heavy at all.

Lumiere Skin Health & Wellness Centre - Web_MG_7499

Each facial service is also followed by a makeup touch up. She used Youngblood mineral products on my skin, and just lightly dusted some powder foundation and setting powder on my skin, so that I’d be ready for the rest of the day.

The only thing about Lumiere is that the opening hours are quite short – from 10AM to 6PM, Tuesdays to Saturdays, and appointments are required. I work downtown so it was easy for me to sneak a lunchtime facial in, but if you live or work anywhere else, it would be hard to schedule a time in. That being said, if you do work downtown and would like a mid-day pick-me-up, this is the perfect place to go. The quiet and serenity of the spa really helped to give me a relaxing experience in the midst of the hustle and bustle of the city.

If you are interested in long-term skincare treatments, they also offer a monthly facial membership in which you pay an annual fee, and then you can get a discount on your services each month. You can get more information about the membership, as well as see the service prices, on their website here.

Lumiere Skin Wellness & Health Centre
Rogers Building
401-470 Granville Street
Vancouver, V6C 1V5
Ph: 604-801-9881
info@lumierespa.ca

Lumiere Skin Health & Wellness Centre - Web_MG_7505Lumiere Skin Health & Wellness Centre - Web_MG_7656-Edit

2 thoughts on “Experience: Lumiere Skin Health & Wellness Centre Skinovage Skin Performance Facial featuring Babor products

  1. Sheila, you’re so right on! One of the problem of many spas just slab products on client’s face. Our facial is personalized based on each client’s skin needs.

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

