Winter skincare – Vichy Aqualia Thermal Serum & La Roche-Posay Toleriane Ultra Fluide

My skin becomes super dehydrated and tight in the winter, and I always need copious amounts of hydration in the forms of lotion (i.e. hydrating toner), serum, and moisturizer. This winter, I found a combination that just worked wonders on my skin, and helped to alleviate several of the issues that I encounter during this dry time of the year. This combination of Vichy Aqualia Thermal Serum and La Roche-Posay Toleriane Ultra Fluide tones down redness, hydrates dryness, alleviates sensitivity, and allows the smooth application of makeup.

Vichy Aqualia Thermal Serum

vichy aqualia thermal serum review

The Vichy Aqualia Thermal Serum is part of Vichy’s extensive range targeted at simply hydrating your skin (I’ve previously reviewed the Night Spa here). The serum is a blue-toned fluid that is very light and somewhat gel-like in texture, with the same signature Vichy “ocean-like” fresh scent. It contains ingredients such as glycerin, sodium hyaluronate (hyaluronic acid) and is formulated with Vichy’s famous Thermal Spa Water.

On my skin, the serum just absorbs right in. I use this as the third step to my daytime skincare routine (cleanse, hydrate with a hydrating toner, then serum, moisturizer, and sun protection), and it helps to plump up my skin, getting it ready for makeup application. I also find that my moisturizer spreads easier, and I can use less of it after I use this, because my skin is also plump full of moisture.

It leaves slightly smooth finish, which I feel is probably the work of the dimethicone (third on the ingredients list).

Will I repurchase? It’s very likely.

Ingredients:

vichy aqualia thermal serum ingredients

 

La Roche-Posay Toleriane Ultra Fluide

la roche posay toleriane ultra fluide review

La Roche-Posay is very well known for their products designed to alleviate allergies or ultra-sensitivity in the skin. These products contain simple, effective ingredients that target specifically the issue being treated. The Toleriane range is designed to do just that; made for intolerant skin, these products are preservative-free, paraben-free, fragrance-free, alcohol-free, colorant-free, and lanolin-free.

The Ultra Fluide, new for winter 2014, is an intense soothing fluid created for combination to oily-prone allergic skin. It is a non-oily formula, and can be used on the face and eye area. Formulated with glycerin, squalane and shea butter, skin is left soothed and comfortable.

This is probably one of my favourite skincare finds this season. This moisturizer is medium texture, not runny like a true fluid, but not thick like a conventional cream. It spreads incredibly easy on the skin, sinking in quickly and leaving zero residue. Applying a sunscreen after this doesn’t leave my skin feeling heavy or overwhelmed either; it just feels moisturized and healthy. My skin is extremely comfortable after application, with decreased redness, my skin feels protected against the cold outdoor air, as well as the dry indoor office air induced by heating, both extreme irritants on the skin.

The bottle design I think is pretty great – it is a clear plastic tube featuring a pump, but the moisturizer itself is housed inside a plastic sack inside the plastic bottle. This means that there is no air being let inside the bottle, and every last drop of it will be used up due to the plastic bag being squeezed each time product is being pumped out.

Repurchase? Definitely!

Ingredients:

la roche posay toleriane ultra fluide  ingredients

 

Also, I hope everyone had a great Christmas holiday and happy New Years!

5 thoughts on “Winter skincare – Vichy Aqualia Thermal Serum & La Roche-Posay Toleriane Ultra Fluide

  1. La Roche Posay’s Toleriane Ultra saved my skin last winter from my eczema flare! Glad to know that they have a fluid version now! Vichy might be my next serum after I finished Caudalie VInosource 🙂

    • Yup, it’s all transparent so you can see how much is left. It just gets “squeezed” as you use it every day, much better than the usual pump with the straw.

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

