Review + swatches: Clinique the Nutcracker Act I and Blended Face Powder in Snowflake Dreams from the Nutcracker Suite collection

clinique nutcracker act 1 palette

For Holiday 2014, Clinique released a small and compact collection of just 3 items, inspired by the classic Christmas ballet, the Nutcracker. The collection includes the Nutcracker Act I, an eye and cheek palette; Chubby Stick Baby Tint in Budding Blossom; and Blended Face Powder in Snowflake Dreams. I have the Nutcracker Act I and the Blended Face Powder in Snowflake Dreams to share with you today.

The Nutcracker Act I palette

The Nutcracker Act I palette ($46) contains 4 eyeshadows and 1 blush. The theme of the palette is pinks and plums, and reminded me instantly of the Sugarplum Fairy. The eyeshadow shades are an icy white, pale blue-based shimmery pink, satin plum, and matte black with some silver speckled glitter. The blush is a shimmery mauve.

I was not a fan of the dry, powdered textures of this palette; the shades were also very sheer and required several layers in order to show up decently. The best performing colour in the palette was the plum, but everything else was pretty much a dud. I really wanted to love this palette too because the combination of pink and plum makes it a very holiday-esp palette that is also feminine and unique.

clinique nutcracker act 1 palette

Blended Face Powder in Snowflake Dreams

clinique snowflake dreams

The Blended Face Powder in Snowflake Dreams ($29) is a loose powder for highlighting the cheekbones or anywhere else on the body. The shade Snowflake Dreams is a pink-based powder with a ton of silver sparkles. You can see in my swatch that they do not go easy on the sparkles! I honestly cannot see myself wearing this at all because of the sparkles. It would be great for a masquerade ball or Halloween but if you wanted to impart a more natural glow/highlight, even on your body, there are way better alternatives out there for highlighters.Β It comes with a travel-sized brush that’s quite scratchy (but if you were applying this on your body, the quality of brush probably wouldn’t make a huge difference).

clinique snowflake dreams

Overall, in my opinion the Nutcracker Suite collection by Clinique was not a very good performer. The collection lacked depth and the quality just isn’t up there with the Christmas collections launched by other brands. If you’re still set on getting this, the collection is available now exclusively at Hudson’s Bay.

IMG_2868

3 thoughts on “Review + swatches: Clinique the Nutcracker Act I and Blended Face Powder in Snowflake Dreams from the Nutcracker Suite collection

  1. I totally agree with your review as I had similar results with this collection. If you very very very sparingly apply the powder, it works quite nicely layered over a blush. I think the blush was my fave part of the collection, but it’s not worth buying the whole palette just for that. Get the Black Honey palette instead!

    • I feel like I’ve given up on Clinique eyeshadows because the 3-4 I’ve tried in the past have all consistently been not-too-great. It sucks considering they make one of my favourite mascaras and their Chubby sticks are also some of my favourites.

  2. Pingback: Maja Face Powder Review | Laatuasunnot

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

