Cutest holiday collection ever – Shu Uemura x Karl Lagerfeld Shupette collection

Shu Uemura shupette review swatches

For holiday 2014, Shu Uemura teamed up again with Karl Lagerfeld for the second time to create a collection inspired by Karl Lagerfeld’s cat, Choupette. The story is that Choupette belonged to a model that Karl Lagerfeld worked with, and the model asked Karl to cat-sit over the holidays. Later Karl refused to return Choupette to the model because he just loved the cat so much. The collection is quite large and is comprised of several different pieces. Today I am showing you the two eyeshadow trios, the face powder and the glitter trio.

shu uemura shupette eyeshadow review

Overall the collection is very, very cute. The two eyeshadow trios, lovingly called the Eye-Need-Shu Trios (C$45 each) are encased in a plastic packaging with a sketch of Choupette on the top lid. Eye-Need-Shu Trio 01 is a blue-based palette, comprised of a shimmery white, a shimmery baby blue, and a shimmer navy blue with baby blue sparkles. The pigmentation on the 01 trio is medium, as I required several layers to get the swatches you see on my arm.Eye Need-Shu Trio 02 is a pink-based palette, comprised of a shimmery champagne, satin pink, and a satin burgundy. With the exception of the burgundy shade, which is a beautiful rich colour, the rest of the pink palette is also lacking in pigmentation.

shu uemura shupette eyeshadow review

Application of the blue palette was easy and once on the eyes, the blue really helped make my eyes pop. The pink palette on the other hand, was slightly disappointing as it required many, many layers of the baby pink colour to show up on my eyes.

shu uemura shupetteswatches

My favourite product of the collection that I’ve tried has got to be the Pampearl-Me Face Powder (C$50). It is a very finely milled face powder with just a hint of sheen. If dusted lightly, you can use this as an all-over face finishing powder, which is what I’ve been doing. The finish is a beautiful, soft focus, pore-blurring look. As the powder is so finely milled, it just melts into the skin. I lightly dust this over my entire face, after I’ve mattified and powdered with my usual face powder. My skin looks generally more glowy!

shu uemura shupette pampearl me face powder review
shu uemura shupette pampearl me face powder review
shu uemura shupette pampearl me face powder review

Last but least, the My Precious Glitter Set (C$58) is a set of three separate shimmer powder. It says glitter but actually the powder is super fine shimmer that creates a multi-dimensional look on the eyes without the gritty feel.

shu uemura shupette glitter set

I created two separate looks with the Eye-Need-Shu Trios. Sorry for the difference in lighting, I took these on two different days and on the 2nd day (the one when I’m wearing the blue palette), it was super overcast outside so I had trouble getting good lighting.

Eye-Need-Shu 01

shu eumura shupette review swatches
shu eumura shupette review swatches

Eye-Need-Shu 02

shu eumura shupette review swatches
shu eumura shupette review swatches

 

Shu Uemura x Karl Lagerfeld Shupette products are available now online, at select Sephora locations across Canada, at the Bay, and at Holt Renfrew.

2 thoughts on “Cutest holiday collection ever – Shu Uemura x Karl Lagerfeld Shupette collection

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

