Review: Clarins True Radiance Foundation SPF 15

Clarins True Radiance Foundation review

With the dry fall season, my skin is a lot more dehydrated and sensitive, so I’ve looked to more moisturizing and gentle foundation formulas to get me through a work day.

My skin profile: I have very dehydrated cheeks with a t-zone that gets oily. I occasionally get break-outs, usually 1-2 around that time of the month. My main skin concerns are hyper-pigmentation and dehydration in the cheek area and fine lines in the eye area. My ideal skincare products are ones that provide good moisture to my skin, absorb quickly and leave no left-over product sitting on top of my skin.

What it claims (from Clarins.ca): A lightweight, moisturizing formula that instantly melts into the skin to deliver new radiance thanks to dual light-infusing action: it fights against a dull complexion and boosts radiance.

• Reveals the skin’s natural luminosity with the anti-pollution action of Moringa seed plant extract
• Boosts natural radiance with light-reflecting pigments
• 24-hour hydration*: it infuses the epidermis with moisture to leave it glowing with vitality – See more at: http://www.clarins.ca/en/true-radiance-spf-15/C050101013.html?start=3&dwvar_C050101013_color=103%20ivory#sthash.5Agz5bMV.dpuf

Price: $42 CAD for 30mL bottle

Texture/Scent: Thicker fluid gel-creme texture with a light floral scent

The good: The Clarins True Radiance Foundation has a slightly thicker fluid gel-creme texture that provides medium to full coverage. One pump is more than enough to cover my entire face, and it is buildable, and does not turn cakey even when its being built up. My skin feels comfortable when wearing this, and I really do feel that it is lightly hydrating, which is exactly what I was needing in a fall foundation. It also contains SPF 15, which is great for the fall and if you’re working indoors. I normally use a separate sunscreen anyways, but the SPF 15 inclusion is convenient if you are short on time in the morning.

  • Provides medium to full coverage
  • Buildable and does not turn cakey
  • Skin feels comfortable
  • Lightly hydrating
  • Contains SPF 15

The bad: I found the texture to be a smidge thicker than what I would like, normally because I like my foundations to be lighter and more refined.

  • Slightly thicker than I normally like it

Overall: The Clarins True Radiance Foundation is a regular on my makeup counter now that it is the fall season. It feels very comfortable to wear and is lightly hydrating, which works perfectly with the rest of my skincare routine. The shade 107 is a little too warm for my NC25 skin tone (105 would be better as it is more neutral), but is perfect in the summer or early fall when my skin is a bit more tan than the rest of the year. Priced at $42 for 30mL, it is quite reasonable for a luxury brand foundation. Also the packaging is just gorgeous, in a sleek, tall glass bottle with a gold top. The inside of the gold top is red lacquer, which the Clarins colour. If you are looking for a hydrating foundation for fall, this is the one for you!

The Clarins True Radiance Foundation is available now in 6 shades at all Clarins counters, including London Drugs, the Bay, and Shoppers Drug Mart.

Product: 17/20
Packaging: 5/5
Value: 4/5
Overall: 26/30 | A
Repurchase? Likely yes.

Clarins True Radiance Foundation in action:

Clarins True Radiance Foundation review
Ingredients:

Clarins True Radiance Foundation review
Clarins True Radiance Foundation review

6 thoughts on “Review: Clarins True Radiance Foundation SPF 15

    • Maybe! I hadn’t thought of that. I use my fingers to blend out, which helps to control the amount I use. A damp sponge might help to “melt” the foundation more though. Thanks for the suggestion!

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

