Gadget review: Clinique Sonic System Purifying Cleansing Brush

Clinique Sonic Brush review

I’m super excited to share with you the Clinique Sonic System Purifying Cleansing Brush! This new cleansing brush is powered by sonic movements and uses a dual-fibre brush for deep and gentle cleaning, depending on the area of your face. Designed to work with the Clinique 3-Step program and its facial soaps, it promises to deliver smoother and more radiant skin, with fewer clogged pore.

Clinique Sonic System Purifying Cleansing Brush review

I’ve been using the Clinique system for a few weeks, in combination with the Clinique Liquid Facial Soap and other foaming cleansers, and I am very impressed with the results. The sonic pulsations help create a nice dense foam to cleanse with, and the brush glides against my skin really easily with the foam. The dual-fibre brush is a genius design, because I can use the gentler white bristles on my cheeks, and the green firmer bristles on my T-zone area and chin.

Clinique Sonic System Purifying Cleansing Brush review

The main thing about the Clinique system is that it doesn’t promise to treat anything or cure anything miraculously. It is good for one thing, cleaning and removing dirt and makeup from the skin. It has definitely achieved that, because my skin feels super clean at the end, but it has never, not once, felt tight or stripped. When toning, I don’t see any left-over dirt or makeup on the cotton pad, which means that the brush has helped to remove everything. I don’t notice any tightening of pores or eradication of fine lines, but I didn’t expect that from something that is supposed to just clean the skin.

Clinique Sonic System Purifying Cleansing Brush review

I do find that my skincare products are absorbing better and my skin feels softer from the gradual, gentle exfoliation. I do still deep exfoliate my skin 1-2 a week, either with a physical scrub or with a chemical exfoliating enzyme mask, and it has just helped to further the benefits of those products because the top layer of my skin is free from gunk, so the other products can penetrate the skin more easily.

After 2 weeks of using this every day, I can say that my skin is smoother, more radiant, softer, and looks overall better. Even my mom (who is usually my worst critic) says my skin looks super radiant, even with the change the weather normally wrecking havoc on my skin. Also since I got this and started using it, I haven’t had to charge it once – my first charge has lasted me this long!

Clinique Sonic System Purifying Cleansing Brush review

Another bonus is that the gadget is extremely light, and very travel friendly – I plan on taking this with me to Mexico at the end of November! The charging base is also equally light. A single charge can last up to 3 hours of usage, which considering each usage is 30 seconds to a minute, it will last for a long time on a single charge.

The downside is that distribution is relatively limited, as you can only purchase this at Clinique counters or online at Sephora. The brush replacement heads are even harder to find, and are available only at Clinique counters.

The Clinique Sonic System Purifying Cleansing Brush is available now at Clinique counters, online at Clinique and Sephora for $95 for the brush, and $29 for the replacement brush head. It comes with a 2-year warranty, and Sephora also has an excellent return policy for those who want to try this out! I definitely highly recommend trying this, especially if the Clarisonic just isn’t doing it for you.

Update 12/30/2014 – after 3 months of using this cleansing brush six out of the 7 days in a week, I have yet to have to recharge it since the initial charge. That’s 3 months of near daily use on the same charge! That is incredibly impressive and I wonder how much longer it can last without a charge…

Clinique Sonic System Purifying Cleansing Brush review

Comparison with the Clarisonic

I’m not a huge fan of the Clarisonic. I had the Clarisonic Mia, which is your basic, run-of-the-mill model for just cleansing and nothing else. Even while using the Delicate brush head, I felt it was just too abrasive for my skin to be used once a day, let alone twice a day like they recommend. I was using it for 2-3 times a week and still felt it was too abrasive so I gave it up after approximately 6 months of use. The main difference between this Clinique system and the Clarisonic is definitely in the softness of the brush fibres, and also how long and often they recommend you use this for.

Like I mentioned before, Clinique system’s dual-fibre brush is ultra soft (the white part), and the green part is more deep cleansing for use on the T-zone. The Clarisonic’s Delicate brush is composed of the same bristles and is a lot harsher compared to the Clinique brush.

Clinique recommends that you use the tool for 15 seconds on cheeks and another 15 seconds on T-zone, and this was to be done once a day. Clarisonic recommends that you use their product for 20 seconds on the forehead, 20 seconds on the nose and chin, and 10 seconds per cheek, but this was to be done twice a day. I found that the Clarisonic method was too much for me, especially combined with the harsher brush. My skin became really sensitive and turned red easily, whereas it hasn’t happened with the Clinique brush yet.

Overall, I prefer the Clinique Sonic System Purifying Cleansing Brush to the Clarisonic, and I can see myself continuing to use the Clinique Sonic System Purifying Cleansing Brush as my experience has been extremely positive so far.

Have you tried this, and what are your thoughts?

Clinique Sonic System Purifying Cleansing Brush review

Clinique Sonic System Purifying Cleansing Brush review

16 thoughts on “Gadget review: Clinique Sonic System Purifying Cleansing Brush

  1. That’s awesome that it’s working well for you and I totally agree that the bristles do feel softer than the Clarisonic. I guess it just depends on each person’s skin. Do you think this would be strong enough then given that it is so gentle for non-sensitive skin?

    • I think so! I’ve always believed in gentle cleansing, regardless of your skin type. As long as you clean daily and consistently, it should be as effective (and less abrasive) than a harsher cleanser.

  2. Pingback: Holiday gift guide – gifts for the best friends in your life! | *Maddy Loves

  3. I just started using my clinique sonic system about a week ago, haven’t notice to my change to my skin yet but I am hopeful. I enjoyed reading you post about and I’m sure glad to hear the battery last forever, I love to travel and that will come in handy! ❤

    • I think it should be fine! I’ve actually been using it for longer periods of time now that my skin is more used to it, and it still works just as well.

  4. I used this for the first time a few days ago and got redness and puffiness on one of my cheeks, below the eye – I haven’t tried it again, should I wait for the reaction to go away and then try again, maybe for less than the full 30s? I used it with the clinique sonic facial cleanser.

      • Thanks – I have done but no response yet. First time I have used it – my skin is sensitive but not overly so and after reading so many reviews from people with sensitive skin I figured I would try it!

        • Maybe wait your skin to calm down and then try it with another cleanser. If you haven’t used that specific Clinique cleanser before, it might be a reaction to the cleanser and not the brush, but wait to see what the Clinique people say first.

  5. Pingback: Gadget review: Philips PureRadiance Facial Cleansing System | *Maddy Loves

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

