Review: Kiehl’s Calendula Deep Cleansing Foaming Wash

Kiehl's Calendula Deep Cleansing Foaming Wash review

I love a rich foaming cleanser that deep cleanses. While most cleansers in this category are drying and fare better on combination or oily skin, Kiehl’s new Calendula Deep Cleansing Foaming Wash cleanses without stripping, and is ultra gentle on the skin.

My skin profile: I have very dehydrated cheeks with a t-zone that gets oily. I occasionally get break-outs, usually 1-2 around that time of the month. My main skin concerns are hyper-pigmentation and dehydration in the cheek area and fine lines in the eye area. My ideal skincare products are ones that provide good moisture to my skin, absorb quickly and leave no left-over product sitting on top of my skin.

What it claims (from Kiehl’s.ca): This rich, gel formula activates with water to create a creamy, dense foam that gently removes impurities without stripping skin of its essential moisture.Formulated with Calendula Flower Extract and Glycerin, this deep cleansing face wash helps to soothe and replenish skin without over drying. Skin looks and feels instantly refreshed and revitalized. Soap-free and Sulfate-free.

Price: $34 CAD for 235mL bottle

Texture/Scent: Light, translucent gel. Pretty much scent-free.

The good: This cleanser foams up quickly upon contact with water and some rubbing, and the type of foam it creates is the plush, rich kind. It cleanses really well, getting into all of the crevices of my skin and into my pores, but it never strips. It leaves my skin feeling really soft and balanced.

  • Foams up richly
  • Cleanses well
  • Never strips
  • Skin is left feeling soft and balanced

The bad: The Calendula Deep Cleansing Foaming Wash is not designed to remove makeup, so you do need to use a separate makeup remover. I find that if I wear a lot of makeup one day and remove it with an oil cleanser, if there is any leftover makeup after using the oil cleanser, this will not remove. Basically just need to remove your makeup really well before using this. This is priced at $34 CAD for 235mL, which isn’t too bad for me, but I can see some people not liking that price tag.

  • Does not remove makeup
  • Pricey

Overall: This is a simple, no-frills cleanser that will fulfill anyone’s need for a gentle foaming cleanser. While it is ideal for normal/combination skintypes, if you’re a dry skin person and love foaming cleansers, you can also give this one a try. At the end of the day, I really like this cleanser!

Product: 17/20
Packaging: 4/5
Value: 3.5/5
Overall: 24.5/30 | A
Repurchase? Likely yes.

Ingredients:

Kiehl's Calendula Deep Cleansing Foaming Wash review

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

