Skoah reviews: AHA Mask & Hydradew Mask

IMG_1385

I previously shared my experience getting a Skoah Power Facial with you here. Today, I’m reviewing two products I absolutely loved during my facial experience – the AHA Mask and the Hydradew Mask.

AHA Mask review

The AHA Masks contains alpha hydroxy acids (in the form of glycolic acid) that help break down the dead skin cells on the skin’s surface to reveal a smoother, brighter complexion. It is also infused with peppermint for a fresh, tingly experience, as well as flower and plant extracts and oat extracts to heal and soften the skin.

My skin generally does not react well to chemical exfoliating masks, preferring to using gentle chemical exfoliators such as the Dermalogica Microfoliant, but after going to my Skoah facial, the esthetician pointed out to me that my skin needs a bit more exfoliation, otherwise it can cause dryness, scaliness, peeling, and other problems due to my products not absorbing properly. I guess my gentle exfoliators were a bit too gentle to do the job!

The Skoah AHA Mask is a terrific middle ground for people who are generally more sensitive to chemical exfoliators but still prefer it to physical scrubs. The texture of the mask is this odd thick, dense gel. It is a lot denser compared to typical gel masks, and it is a little bit harder to spread onto the skin. In about 5-10 minutes, the mask dries and hardens a little bit on the skin, and then I usually leave it on for about 15 minutes (the directions say 10-20 minutes). Due to the thick gel consistency, it is a little bit hard to wash off, and I usually reach for a washcloth or just continuously splash my face with water in order to get it off. It does wash off clean, leaving no residue, and my skin doesn’t feel tight or uncomfortable afterwards. While it does sting and tingle, it doesn’t cause any redness to my skin (unlike other exfoliating masks), and leaves my skin oh so soft. I can really feel a difference in the way products apply and absorb in my skin, and overall my skin looks more even-toned.

I use the AHA Mask twice a week, usually following it up with the Hydradew mask (reviewed below), or if I’m short on time, in conjunction with the Hydradew Mask: I applied the AHA Mask to my T-zone, and then the Hydradew Mask on my cheeks and chin so I can allow both masks to work their magic at the same time. It is important to note that because it does contain AHAs, your skin becomes more sensitive to UV exposure, therefore sunscreen is an absolute must for the days that follow this treatment.

Overall, definitely love, will repurchase, and recommend! Priced very reasonable at $35, you can get the AHA Mask online at Skoah or at any Skoah location.

Ingredients: aqua, PVM/MA decadiene crosspolymer, triethanolamine, glycolic acid, propylene glycol alginate, arctostaphylos uva ursi leaf extract, arnica montana flower extract, echinacea purpurea extract, mimosa tenuiflora bark extract, calendula officinalis flower extract, tilia cordata flower extract, ginkgo biloba extract, hedera helix extract, avena sativa kernel extract, hypericum perforatum extract, camellia oleifera leaf extract, sodium hyaluronate, mentha piperita oil, allantoin, tetrasodium EDTA, diazolidinyl urea, iodopropynyl butylcarbamate, benzophenone -4.

IMG_1395

Hydradew Mask review

The Hydradew Mask is Skoah’s most popular hydrating mask. It contains glycosaminoglycanes which, similar to the hyaluronic acid, is a cell lubricant and helps to hydrate and pump the cells with water, hence creating a more moisture-rich environment. It also contains various plant and flower extracts and oat extract to help heal and soften the skin.

I love hydrating masks, and this one is definitely up high among my favourite hydrating masks. It smells of delicious honeydews (hydradew, honeydew?), and is a pleasure to use at night. My skin feels ridiculously plumped up after every application, and my makeup applies better the next month. Due to the light gel consistency, it is slightly cooling, and feels very comfortable and natural on the skin. While I don’t notice a glow, per se, it has definitely prevented my skin from looking dull and/or tired (especially since I haven’t been sleeping all that well lately).

I use the Hydradew Mask 2-3 times a day, usually right after or in conjunction with the AHA Mask, for around 15 minutes at a time. It’s great also to use right after a session in the sun due to its hydrating and soothing properties, or right before a big event where you want your skin to look fresh and makeup to apply smoothly. The esthetician at Skoah also recommended using a little bit of this mask as a primer right before makeup application to help seal in the hydrating goodness.

Recommend? Yes! This one is priced at $45 and can be purchased online and at any Skoah location.

Ingredients: aqua, propylene glycol, hydrolyzed glycosaminoglycanes, propylene glycol  alginate, arctostaphylos uva ursi leaf extract, arnica montana flower extract, echinacea purpurea extract, mimosa tenuiflora bark extract, calendula officinalis flower extract, tilia cordata flower extract, ginkgo biloba extract, hedera helix extract, avena sativa kernel extract, hypericum perforatum extract, camellia oleifera leaf extract , allantoin, pvm/ma decadiene crosspolymer, triethanolamine, diazolidinyl urea, iodopropynyl butylcarbamate, parfum/fragrance

IMG_1397

6 thoughts on “Skoah reviews: AHA Mask & Hydradew Mask

  1. I love Skoah and recently signed up to a member. It’s my monthly treat to myself. I really like the AHA mask. I wish they came out with more masks though. I’ve been using Eminence Phyto Greens for 4 years straight and that’s my go-to mask after using the AHA. 🙂

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

