Summer stuffs & recent life activities!

I haven’t done one of these “life”-related posts in a long time, so I just wanted to give you a brief update on what’s been happening in my life.

I recently celebrated my quarter century birthday with the boyfriend, my awesome friends, and my family. My boyfriend and I had my birthday dinner at Miku near Canada Place, one of the fancier sushi restaurants in Vancouver. I’ve been to Miku before for lunch but I’ve never had their dinner. I really enjoyed the food but the boyfriend wasn’t a huge fan. The day after my birthday proper, we also went to Glowbal Grill in Yaletown for brunch with the rest of my friends. The food was mediocre but I felt that the complimentary mini donuts and smoothie “shot” was a good bonus.

20140719_190540

[ Left – birthday dinner at Miku | Right – friend’s wedding ]

I attended my friend Brynn’s wedding. It was the first wedding I’ve ever gone to without my parents (yay for officially joining adulthood, lol). The wedding was absolutely beautiful, and so incredibly sweet. Having known Brynn and Brandon for a good part of their 10+ year relationship, it was very emotional for me to be there for their wedding. They both wrote their own vows and the entire wedding was very them, down to the barbecued food and simplistic decor.

Speaking of weddings, one of my best friends (and fellow bloggers), J just got engaged and I was asked to be a bridesmaid! I’ve known J for nearly 3 years now; we met at the inaugural Vancouver Beauty & Lifestyle Bloggers event and we’ve been good friends ever since. J and I also have our own event planning business together, so it’s very exciting that she also happens to be the first of my close friends to get married. I’m extremely honoured to be by her side as a bridesmaid on her big day!

20140816_172903

[ Left – camping at Tunkwa Provincial Park | Right – cabin trip to Manning Park, thanks Angela for the photo ]

With the beautiful summer weather, the boyfriend and I went on two outdoorsy trips – a camping trip to a provincial park here in BC, and a weekend cabin trip with my good friends J and Angela and their significant others. It’s actually the first time I’ve ever gone camping in my life. My dad bought all this camping gear a few years ago because he wanted to go camping, but it just never ended up happening, so we had all this camping gear lying around in the house that eventually we got some use out of. I had an amazing time! It was really fun hanging out with the boyfriend and his friends, and also spending the night in a tent, albeit it was a bit cold. I’d do it again for sure.

The boyfriend and I booked our first overseas trip together – to Mexico! I’ve never been to Mexico; I’ve never actually done a sun/beach vacation before, preferring to do cities and sightseeing instead, but since working full time, I’ve wanted a nice vacation to relax and take my mind off the daily hustle and bustle of life. We figured Mexico would be the perfect spot to do that. We’ll be heading to the Riviera Maya at the end of November, so we’ll hopefully escape the rain and cold that blesses Vancouver every year around that time. If you have any tips or recommendations on activities to do there, please let us know! We’re looking into doing 1-2 excursions and then staying the rest of the time in the resort to just chillax.

Grand-Bahia-Principe-Tulum-Copy

 

4 thoughts on “Summer stuffs & recent life activities!

  1. Yay I’m so excited and happy that one of my best friends will be standing with me at the altar!! You guys will have an amazing time I’m sure in Mexico too – just remember to get one of those beachside lounge chairs with the umbrellas!

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

