Dermalogica reviews: Ultracalming Cleanser & Multi-Active Toner

Dermalogica ultracalming cleanser and multi-active toner review

Dermalogica makes some of my favourite skincare products (Daily Microfoliant, Skin Hydrating Booster, just to name a few). I attended a Dermalogica product feature event a few months ago and discovered a few more products to add to my favourites – the Ultracalming Cleanser and the Multi-Active Toner – both popular among their loyal clientele.

Dermalogica UltraCalming Cleanser

Dermalogica ultracalming cleanser review

Formulated for sensitive skins, the UltraCalming Cleanser is a non-foaming, gel-based cleanser that is massaged onto the skin then rinsed or wiped off with tissue or a sponge. I use this product after removing my makeup with either Precleanse or the Precleanse wipes as a second cleanse. This is the perfect product to take camping or when you need to wash your face but don’t have ready access to running water. Because I can take my time to massage it in, I find that it cleans really well without stripping. It leaves my skin feeling super soft and ready for toner. I found that the Precleanse wipes can be a little irritating on my skin at times, especially if I have heavy makeup on, and the UltraCalming Cleanser soothes any irritation and redness.

From the ingredients list below, you can see there are lots of awesome ingredients such as ginger root extract, glycerin, oat kernal extract, cucumber fruit extract, and others, all of which are soothing and help calm redness and irritation. Because there are lots of natural ingredients, some of the other reviewers have said it actually causes more irritation, likely due to allergies. I didn’t experience any negative effects with using this cleanser.

Bottom line is that I love it, and I will continue to take this around with me when using running water to wash my face isn’t an option. I follow the UltraCalming Cleanser with a spritz (in the morning), or a wipe down with a cotton pad (in the evening) of Multi-Active Toner, reviewed below.

Dermalogica UltraCalming Cleanser is priced at $47.50 for 250mL, available online and wherever Dermalogica products are sold (store locator).

Ingredients: Water (Aqua), Cetearyl Alcohol, Bisabolol, Zingiber Officinale (Ginger) Root Extract, Leuconostoc/Radish Root Ferment Filtrate, Glycerin, Avena Sativa (Oat) Kernel Extract, Cucumis Sativus (Cucumber) Fruit Extract, Butylene Glycol, Pentylene Glycol, Hydroxyphenyl Propamidobenzoic Acid, Citrus Medica Limonum (Lemon) Fruit Extract, Fumaria Officinalis Flower/Leaf/Stem Extract, Fumaric Acid, Rubus Idaeus (Raspberry) Fruit Extract, Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender) Flower Extract, Echinacea Purpurea Extract, Acrylates/C10-30 Alkyl Acrylate Crosspolymer, Cocamidopropyl PG-Dimonium Chloride Phosphate, Disodium Lauryl Sulfosuccinate, Cetyl Trimethyl Ammonium Chloride, Salix Alba Bark Extract, Usnea Barbata (Lichen) Extract, Glyceryl Caprylate, Tetrasodium EDTA, Panthenol, Aminomethyl Propanol.

Dermalogica Multi-Active Toner

Dermalogica multi-active toner review

The Multi-Active Toner is the multipurpose toner for all skin types. Basically Dermalogica’s workhorse toner, it is suitable for everyone, and at any age. This toner contains aloe, lavender extract, cucumber extract, and other fruit and floral extracts to help soothe and condition the skin for serum and moisturizer. I use this spritzed directly on my face in the morning for a pick-me-up, and spritzed on a cotton pad and wiped down my face at night to get every last bit of makeup and gunk from my pores. Together with the UltraCalming Cleanser, I find that it really soothes my skin, especially when I’m tired or stressed and that’s reflected in my skin. My skin feels more perked up after every use. It actually reminds me a lot of the Cellnique Soothing & Hydration Lotion that I loved but this is much more easily accessible.

If you’re looking for a good pick-me-up in the morning that’s also beneficial to your skin, or just a simple soothing toner, this is the product for you.  The giant 250mL bottle will also last you a looooong time with daily use.

Dermalogica UltraCalming Cleanser is priced at $45. for 250mL, available online and wherever Dermalogica products are sold (store locator).

Ingredients: Water (Aqua), Butylene Glycol, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice, Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender) Extract, Melissa Officinalis Leaf Extract, Sodium Lactate, Sodium PCA, Sorbitol, Proline, Propylene Glycol, Malva Sylvestris (Mallow) Flower/Leaf/Stem Extract, Hedera Helix (Ivy) Leaf/Stem Extract, Cucumis Sativus (Cucumber) Fruit Extract, Sambucus Nigra Flower Extract, Arnica Montana Flower Extract, Parietaria Officinalis Extract, Ricinoleth-40, Polysorbate 20, Methyl Gluceth-20, PEG-12 Dimethicone, Dipotassium Glycyrrhizate, Linalool, Polyquaternium-4, Disodium EDTA, Sodium Citrate, 1,2-Hexanediol, Caprylyl Glycol, Phenoxyethanol, Ethylhexylglycerin, Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender) Oil

4 thoughts on “Dermalogica reviews: Ultracalming Cleanser & Multi-Active Toner

  1. Yay I’m glad you like these! I haven’t used the toner yet, but I do have a bottle waiting for me in my backlog. $45 for 250 mL really isn’t that bad considering how long it will take to use up.

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

