Almay reviews: Smart Shade Anti-Aging Makeup, Shadow Softies, & Liquid Lip Balm

Almay smart shade anti-aging makeup review and swatch

Almay, a brand available at most drugstores, is focused on creating soft, everyday wearable makeup that is also hypoallergenic and easy to apply. The products are fool proof, with most of the products coming with application instructions. I previously did a brand/product overview of some of their products here. In the last year or so, Almay has come out with a few new products, some that I love and some that I didn’t love quite so much. I review the Smart Shade Anti-Aging Skintone Matching Makeup, the Shadow Softie, and the Liquid Lip Balm below.

Almay Smart Shade Anti-Aging Skintone Matching Makeup

Available in just three skintone-adjusting shades, the Almay Smart Shade Anti-Aging Skintone Matching Makeup is AMAZING! I have the shade in light and you can see in the swatch that it has completely blended into the colour of my arm. On my face, it also blends in flawlessly and with zero effort. It is great at covering imperfections, smoothing over pores, and creating an overall illuminated, but natural-looking skin. There is a little bit of microshimmer in the foundation, but it is barely noticeable on the face (I only noticed it because it left my fingers looking sparkly after blending this in). In terms of oil control, it is just about average; I do need to blot after 4 hours-ish, which is normal for me. In terms of coverage, it is light to medium, and can be built to medium. Keep in mind that the sparkles look a bit more prominent if this is built up, but it doesn’t look cakey or unnatural.

Only thing is while it is available in three shades, the shades go from light, light/medium, to just medium. If you have much darker skin then you likely won’t be able to find a match. For reference, I am MAC NC25, Chanel B20, Guerlain 02 and I use the light shade. If you are able to find a match, then run out to grab one ASAP!

Almay smart shade anti-aging makeup review and swatch

Almay Shadow Softies

almay shadow softies review and swatch

Almay Shadow Softies are eyeshadow singles, touted to be a whipped powder formula that is light as air. In reality these are just powder eyeshadows, and while they are soft and light, they are also extremely sheer. I wasn’t expecting intense colour by any means, just because Almay is more of a soft, day-makeup kind of brand, but these were disappointingly sheer. I also tried using them on top of a primer and it didn’t really help with the colour payoff. If you’re a fan of sheer, barely there colour, then I’d recommend you check these out, but if you prefer intense colours, these are a skip.

Swatches from left to right: Honeydew, Creme Brulee and Lilac

almay shadow softies review and swatch
almay shadow softies review and swatch

Almay Liquid Lip Balm

Almay’s Liquid Lip Balm is a tinted liquid balm-like gloss. It’s sheer and applies almost jelly-like, and is very comfortable to wear. The shades I have are Just Plum Good, a rosy plum shade, and Nudetrients, a sheer nude-beige. These are great if you want just a light tint of colour with a bit of glossy shine, and help make your lips look plump.I’m not a huge gloss person, and generally prefer lipstick (it’s all that hair sticking to my lips!), but if I were, I’d wear these as a natural flush of colour at the office; they are definitely more comfortable and effortless to wear compared to conventional glosses.

Almay liquid lip balm review and swatch

3 thoughts on “Almay reviews: Smart Shade Anti-Aging Makeup, Shadow Softies, & Liquid Lip Balm

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

