Summer Essential: review of Maybelline Dream Wonder Fluid-Touch Foundation

Maybelline Dream Wonder Fluid-Touch Foundation review and swatches

Touted as the Maybelline version of the much raved-about Armani Maestro foundation, the Maybelline Dream Wonder Fluid-Touch Foundation is a silicone-based foundation that glides on the skin effortlessly and dries to a matte finish (no powder required!).

The shade 20 Classic Ivory is a good match for my MAC NC25 (Chanel B20, Guerlain 02) skintone. The texture is a very light fluid, due to the formula being  essentially a blend of powders suspended in oils. Because of the silky oil formula, you don’t need to warm this up in your hands before application; regardless, it will apply super smoothly and dry down quickly to a matte finish.  You can see a photo of me wearing this on my Instagram here.

In terms of coverage, it is light to medium. Due to the light texture, I don’t think it can be built up to a full coverage, but it doesn’t get cakey even when building to a medium coverage. It lasts the whole work day on me, disappearing after about 10 hours. Oil control is above average, in that I do have to blot after 4-5 hours, but it doesn’t take the rest of the foundation with every blot.

One thing to note is that you do have to make sure your skin is well-moisturized before applying this foundation. It’s not very hydrating on its own, so I make sure to use either a more hydrating serum, or a hydrating primer before applying this. It will also help it glide better onto the skin and sit more naturally (and with a nicer glow!).

My first impression was that it reminded me a lot of the Sweet Leilani Prep, Prime, Powder in that the texture is both silky smooth and dries down matte. The Maybelline version has a lot less coverage compared to Prep, Prime, Powder so I normally layer this a bit more than I would compared to Prep, Prime, Powder, or other foundations. I found that it does layer much better than Prep, Prime, Powder in that it doesn’t sink into my pores, nor does it get cakey.

I haven’t tried the original Armani Maestro foundation so I can’t compare, but I definitely like the Maybelline Dream Wonder Fluid-Touch foundation! The finish is very natural and it feels like I’m not wearing any foundation when I wear this. It’s very comfortable on the skin, even on a hot summer day.

Recommend? Yes!

Swatches (from left: 20 Classic Ivory, 10 Porcelain Ivory)

Maybelline Dream Wonder Fluid-Touch Foundation review and swatchesMaybelline Dream Wonder Fluid-Touch Foundation review and swatches

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

