Review: Biotherm Life Plankton Essence

biotherm life plankton essence review

The Biotherm Life Plankton Essence is a new essence lotion released recently by Biotherm. Infused with Biotherm’s signature plankton ingredient in the highest concentration, and filled with awesome ingredients like sea water (maris aqua), sodium hyaluronic (the salt of the hyaluronic acid that is a smaller molecule and more penetrative in the skin), and grape vine extract (vitis vinifera extract), this is the perfect hydrating serum for use in the summer! Here is my review…

Random personal story: Biotherm is actually THE first skincare products I’ve ever used in my life, and it was the brand that sparked my love for skincare. The first series I’ve ever used was Biopur, which has been discontinued and replaced with Pure-fect, and I’ve also used up several bottles of products in the Aquasource series, including the Super Serum (now called the Deep Serum) and the moisturizers in the same line. I believe that Biotherm is truly a good skincare line for people who are just starting out to experiment with skincare because their products are simple to use and don’t usually come with a million different claims. The Aquasource line is perfect for those in their late teens to mid-20s when hydration and skin balance is the biggest concern, and then as they move into their late 20s and early 30s, they can start to incorporate products from other lines, such as the ones with more anti-aging properties. The Biotherm Life Plankton Essence, reviewed below, is complementary to all of Biotherm’s skincare lines, and would be great for people of all ages.

My skin profile: I have very dehydrated cheeks with a t-zone that gets oily. I occasionally get break-outs, usually 1-2 around that time of the month. My main skin concerns are hyper-pigmentation and dehydration in the cheek area and fine lines in the eye area. My ideal skincare products are ones that provide good moisture to my skin, absorb quickly and leave no left-over product sitting on top of my skin.

What it claims (from Biotherm.ca): Life Plankton™ Essence is as actively concentrated as a serum, yet as lightweight as a cosmetic water for maximum absorption and deep-working effectiveness. Created to be the 1st step of every beauty routine, this breakthrough texture, that applies like a cosmetic water and transforms into the lightest of serums, works as a miracle essence.
In 8 days see and feel a new-bon skin.

Price: C$67 for 125mL

Texture/Scent: Slightly viscous gel-fluid with the signature fresh Biotherm scent that fades away almost immediately

How to use: Used after cleansing, shake well, dispense a few drops of this essence on the palms then spread onto the skin.

biotherm life plankton essence review

The good: I have very dehydrated cheeks and this product is perfect for delivering the perfect amount of hydration, morning and night. It makes my skin feel very plump and healthy, and creates a very nice base for foundation and makeup. You just need a few drops (I use 2-3 during the day and 3-4 at night for my face, and 2 drops on my neck) per application, so the big 125mL bottle lasts a long time.I also love the beautiful bottle that it comes in – it looks amazing on my bathroom counter.

  • Hydrating
  • Skin is plump and healthy
  • Good base for foundation/makeup
  • Beautiful packaging
  • Good value

The bad: I didn’t notice any long term benefits in terms of improvements in skin tone or texture. I would need to use this every day in order to get the hydrating effects. Also it dries a little bit tacky on my skin (even after just using 3 drops), but the tackiness goes away quickly.

  • Did not notice any long-term benefits in skin improvement.

Overall: I used the Biotherm Life Plankton Essence for a few weeks and I’m really impressed with how plump, hydrated, and healthy my skin looks after application. Not only does it hydrate my skin throughout the whole day, it creates a perfect base to help foundation and other makeup apply more smoothly and evenly. While I didn’t notice any long-term benefits in skin texture or tone, I can see myself continuing to use this product just for the delivery of hydration. Also the fact that you get a 125mL bottle and only a few drops per application is required, the value in purchasing this is phenomenal!

Product: 16/20
Packaging: 5/5
Value: 5/5
Overall: 26/30 | A
Repurchase? Yes

You can purchase Biotherm Life Plankton Essence on Biotherm.ca, London Drugs, and at all other Biotherm counters across Canada.

Ingredients:

biotherm life plankton essence ingredients
biotherm life plankton essence review

5 thoughts on “Review: Biotherm Life Plankton Essence

    • It’s great for layering too! Wear this with other hydrating serums (for fall/winter) or on its own (spring/summer), so it’s never too late to start using this 😀

  1. Pingback: Featuring supplementary skincare – essence lotions, pre-serums, facial oils, eye serums, and more! | *Maddy Loves

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

