Review: Clinique Even Better Essence Lotion (for combination and oily skin)

Clinique Even Better Essence Lotion review

I’m really excited to review the Clinique Even Better Essence Lotion for you as it has quickly become a staple in my skincare regime. The version I have is for skintype 3 and 4, which are combination and oily skin. I use this as the first step in my morning skincare regime after my cleanser and before my serum, moisturizer and sunscreen.

My skin profile: I have very dehydrated cheeks with a t-zone that gets oily. I occasionally get break-outs, usually 1-2 around that time of the month. My main skin concerns are hyper-pigmentation and dehydration in the cheek area and fine lines in the eye area. My ideal skincare products are ones that provide good moisture to my skin, absorb quickly and leave no left-over product sitting on top of my skin.

What it claims (from Sephora.com)This astounding lotion provides both instant and long-term benefits. The rich formula plumps for softer and more comfortable skin, while moisturizing ingredients help bind water to the skin surface to improve its overall condition. Soothing botanical and cucumber extracts achieve the appearance of inner radiance.

Price: C$37 for 100mL

Texture/Scent: Scent free; slightly thicker fluid

The good: Three drops of this product in the morning is really all you need, and it absorbs quickly, leaving behind skin that is prepped for the next steps of the skincare regime and no residue. Even though the version I have is for combination/oily skin, I find that it is the perfect level of hydration for mornings, especially in the summer. Since using this product, my skin has felt smoother, softer, more supple, and definitely more hydrated. In terms of the “inner radiance” part of its claims, I’ve noticed that my skin definitely looked healthier.

  • Very hydrating
  • Skin feels smoother, softer, more supple, and looked healthier
  • Need very little product to achieve maximum benefits

The bad: Even though you only need a few drops of this product, C$37 for 100mL is pretty steep for a hydrating watery lotion.

  • Expensive

Overall: I think I have found a new staple product by Clinique. I love using this in the morning, and I can only see myself continuing to repurchase this product after I’ve used up my first bottle. After just a few weeks of use, I can already see visible benefits in my skin, and it has helped all of the other products I use after this absorb better as well. The result is a smoother, more hydrated canvas for makeup, and just a healthier look overall.

You can purchase Clinique Even Better Essence Lotion at Sephora locations now, or at The Bay counters starting in July. It also comes in a dry/normal skin version that is a lot more viscous and perfect for the winter!

Product: 20/20
Packaging: 3/5
Value: 2/5
Overall: 25/30 | A
Repurchase? Yes!

Clinique Even Better Essence Lotion review

6 thoughts on “Review: Clinique Even Better Essence Lotion (for combination and oily skin)

  1. This sounds like a really good product. I may have to look into getting it when I’m done with all the other various skin care products that I have in my stash. I find it interesting how the label says, “Formulated for Asian Skin”.

    • I think it was originally released in Asia (like most of these products), and then brought here. Not surprising that they want to cater to the crazy buying power of the Asian consumers!

  2. Pingback: Featuring supplementary skincare – essence lotions, pre-serums, facial oils, eye serums, and more! | *Maddy Loves

  3. Pingback: Pre-flight essentials: products to help you manage dry airplane air | *Maddy Loves

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

