Review: Evie Amazingly Soothing Makeup Remover

Evie Amazingly Soothing Makeup Remover oil cleanser review

In my earlier post about Green & Pure Organic Beauty, I mentioned that I have fallen in love with Evie Amazingly Soothing Makeup Remover. I use this product once a day, in the evening, to remove all of my makeup, sunscreen, and anything else off my face before going to bed.

My skin profile: I have very dehydrated cheeks with a t-zone that gets oily. I occasionally get break-outs, usually 1-2 around that time of the month. My main skin concerns are hyper-pigmentation and dehydration in the cheek area and fine lines in the eye area. My ideal skincare products are ones that provide good moisture to my skin, absorb quickly and leave no left-over product sitting on top of my skin.

What it claims (from GreenandPure.com): A concoction of natural Jojoba, Grapeseed and Sweet Almond oil, combined with certified organic essential oils from Bulgaria, England, Italy and France. This silky smooth formula soothes the mind while it gently and thoroughly removes all traces of makeup, leaving your skin bright, soft and supple.

Price: $49 for 180mL

Scent/texture: A light floral scent that washes off completely; oil that’s about the consistency of olive oil.

The good: It cleanses off my makeup completely with two pumps of oil, washes off clean and doesn’t leave any residue. The oil is thick enough so that it “catches” all of the things I need to wash off, and thin enough so that it massages in with little effort. It has a slight floral scent that makes it very relaxing to use before bed. I love the bottle design as well, it is clean and simple, and also transparent so that you know how much you have used up. The ingredients are also great because the base oil is sweet almond oil and it doesn’t contain any petroleum or mineral oils – it’s all natural!

  • All natural
  • Cleans all makeup
  • Washes off completely with no residue
  • Smells great
  • Good bottle design
  • No petroleum/mineral oil

The bad: The only downside I can think of is the price, at $49 for 180mL, it isn’t cheap. Compared to other big name brand cleansing oils though, it’s actually not too bad. In Canada, Shu Uemura is $36 for 150mL, Bobbi Brown is $49 for 200mL, Laura Mercier is $50 for 200mL, and Dermalogica Pre-Cleanse is $52.50 for 150mL.

Overall: As I mentioned before, the Evie Amazingly Soothing Makeup Remover is the best I’ve ever used (compared to Shu Uemura, Bobbi Brown, Dermalogica, and Laura Mercier. I highly recommend this cleansing oil to all cleansing oil fans. I use this even when I don’t have any makeup to remove because it helps makes my skin so soft and smooth! You can purchase Evie Amazingly Soothing Makeup Remover at Green and Pure Organic Beauty.

Product: 20/20
Packaging: 4/5
Value: 3/5
Overall: 27/30 | A
Repurchase? YES!

Ingredients:

Evie Amazingly Soothing Makeup Remover oil cleanser ingredients

9 thoughts on “Review: Evie Amazingly Soothing Makeup Remover

  1. Loved that his was natural, can not deal with the mineral oil in lots of the other cleansing oil formulations. It’s always a fine line for me and so I always have to double cleanse with those just to make sure it doesn’t break me out. But I do see this as more of a winter formula though, a lot thicker and richer.

    • Like you, I’m paranoid that things might break me out so I always double cleanse too, lol. I hate the mineral oils in most of the other cleansing oil formulas (hello, Shu!), especially the more expensive ones!

  2. Pingback: Reviews: Evie Lovingly Pure Toning Water, Evie Miracle Oil and Evie Night Repair Lip Mask | *Maddy Loves

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

