Review + thoughts: Lise Watier Summer 2014 Eden Tropical collection

lise watier summer 2014 eden tropical collection

I always look forward to Lise Watier’s collections every season because generally I’ve found a few products that I’ve absolutely loved and have been blown out of the water by. I’m usually not too fond of summer collections in general (by any brand) because its normally filled with bronzers and bronzing products, neither of which I use. Unfortunately, Lise Watier’s summer 2014 Eden Tropical is no exception, and it is one of the rare collections by Lise Watier that I just couldn’t find myself to love.

lise watier summer 2014 eden tropical collection

The two star items of the collection – the Palette Eden Tropical Eyeshadow ($43) and the Eden Tropical Bronzing Powder ($38) (both limited edition) – were underwhelming and pigmentation were just so-so. Neither powder product had Lise Watier’s signature soft, creamy feel to it, and both applied somewhat patchy.

The Palette Eden Tropical Eyeshadow has 6 jewel-toned eyeshadows, and all of them required more than one swipe to get it to show up with the vibrancy you see in my swatch.

lise watier summer 2014 eden tropical collection
lise watier summer 2014 eden tropical collection

The Eden Tropical Bronzing Powder can be used either with the lighter, peachier shade in the centre, the darker bronzer on the outside ring, or mixed together for more warmth.

IMG_0175

My favourite product in this collection is the Blush Creme Satin ($24) cream blush in Coral Paradise. This cream blush is super creamy, blends in beautifully and smoothly, and dries down to a powdery finish. It also comes in the shade Rose Eden, which is a rose-pink.

IMG_0120

My least favourite product in this collection is Ombre Souffle Supreme in Wonderland. Lise Watier’s Ombre Souffle Supreme is one of my favourite cream eyeshadow formulas so I was very disappointed to find that this colour swatched of just pure glitter with barely any base colour. I generally don’t like products with just pure glitter, but I know that some people will find uses for this. Overall, I am still a fan of the formula just because of how easily it blends, how well it wears, and how long it lasts on the eyelids (even without a primer). I would recommend skipping Wonderland but definitely check out the other shades in Ombre Souffle Supreme range.

lise watier summer 2014 eden tropical collection

The nail polish ($13.5) in Rose Eden also didn’t perform as well as some of my other Lise Watier polishes. Rose Eden was thick and slightly goopy. Even though it dried out with no streaks, while I was applying it, the streaks were very visible. Lise Watier polishes general last a week on me with minor tip wear and usually no chipping.

lise watier summer 2014 eden tropical collection

Other products in this collection include a limited edition 24 Hours Gel Liner in jet black ($25), a Hydra Kiss Colour Balm in Rose Eden and Coral Paradise, and the introduction of the new Rouge Gourmand Velours lipsick formula, a velvet-finish lipstick. The Rouge Gourmand Velours joins the Rouge Gourmand lipstick (cream finish) and the Rouge Fondant Supreme (slightly glossy finish) lipsticks in Lise Watier’s lipstick range.

My recommendations from the collection: Blush Creme Satin, Hydra Kiss Colour Balm, and if you like velvet formula lipsticks, Rouge Gourmand Velours.

lise watier summer 2014 eden tropical collection

Lise Watier’s summer 2014 Eden Tropical collection is available in stores now at London Drugs, Shoppers Drug Mart, and other locations where Lise Watier cosmetics are sold, until July.

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

