Review: L’Oreal Paris OleoTherapy hair system – Oil Infused Self-Heating Hot Oil, Deep Recovery Mask & Perfecting Oil-Essence (part 2)

This is part 2 of my L’Oreal Paris OleoTherapy hair system review. You can check out part 1 here.

L’Oreal Paris OleoTherapy Self-Heating Hot Oil

L’Oreal Paris OleoTherapy Self-Heating Hot Oil review

This is my second favourite product in this line. I’ve been obsessed with VO5 hot oils before but I always found it a hassle that I had to pre-heat it, and to the right temperature otherwise it would either not be warm enough to absorb or would burn my fingers. This self-heating hot oil is the perfect once-a-week hair treatment. It heats up to the perfect temperature once it comes in contact with water, hydrates and smooths out my hair, and rinses out completely with no residue. Each ampoule is one application, and it’s great for travelling (hello, beach vacations!) as well because you just have to bring one ampoule with you instead of the entire tub of hair mask.

Recommended? Yes!

Ingredients:

L’Oreal Paris OleoTherapy Self-Heating Hot Oil ingredients

L’Oreal Paris OleoTherapy Deep Recovery Mask

loreal oleo

This is my favourite product in this line! It actually replaces the conditioner for me as a hair conditioner. I take a scoop of this in my palm after I shampoo my hair, and massage it in from below my ears to the ends of my hair. It absorbs really well, hydrates, smooths, de-tangles, and washes out with no residue. It smells amazing as well, like the rest of the line.

Recommended? Yes!

L’Oreal Paris OleoTherapy Perfecting Oil-Essence

L’Oreal Paris OleoTherapy Perfecting Oil-Essence review

I am a big fan of L’Oreal Paris’s leave-in hair oils; my favourite one is the EverSleek Precious Oil Treatment which smells amazing and leaves my hair oh so soft. The OleoTherapy oil is a much thinner consistency compared to the EverSleek oil, and I find that I have to use 2-3 pumps of it to get the same outcome as 1-2 pumps of the EverSleek oil. While it is hydrating, it’s much lighter and my hair isn’t 100% smoothed out. If you want to de-tangle and de-frizz without sacrificing any volume, you would like this lighter hair oil. EverSleek does tend to weigh down hair a bit more.

Recommended? Yes, if you have normal hair or if you need to de-tangle and de-frizz but still want volume.

Ingredients:

L’Oreal Paris OleoTherapy Perfecting Oil-Essence ingredients

Final thoughts: I had varying thoughts about the products in this line. While I absolutely loved some (the hair mask and leave-in hair oil), I really didn’t love others (the conditioner). Overall, I’m happy to see haircare going in the right direct – less silicones, less sulfates, more natural essential oils. Hopefully we’ll see more products like this in stores!

You can find L’Oreal Paris OleoTherapy products at your local drugstore, such as London Drugs, Shoppers Drug Mart, Target and more.

4 thoughts on “Review: L’Oreal Paris OleoTherapy hair system – Oil Infused Self-Heating Hot Oil, Deep Recovery Mask & Perfecting Oil-Essence (part 2)

  1. I just saw these in Shoppers the other day but I still have a few other L’Oreal masks and things to work through first. Can you believe I’ve never used a “hot oil”? The prospect of putting that in my hair scares me a little as I’m afraid it won’t wash out. If you haven’t had a go at it yet, I loved the Arginine Resist X3 Line.

    • Thanks for the suggestion!

      The hot oil washes out completely actually, no residue at all. This is an excellent product to try hot oil with because it is self-heating – you don’t have to pre-heat it up!

    • The shampoo would be great for you! It’s really light and washes out with no weigh-down. Everything else might be a bit heavy for your hair type, especially if you want volume. The conditioner may also work well for you actually. I didn’t love it because I have pretty dry hair, but if your hair is fine but normal, it may work well.

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

