30 Random things about me.. #Tag!

I’ve been tagged by Amy at Vancouver Eyeshadow Addict to do this 30 random things about me tag. It’s been a while since I’ve done one of these but they just look like so much fun! Check out Angela’s, J’s, and Sarah’s posts as well.

  1. I grew up wanting to be a bunch of different things – first a chef, then an interior designer, and then corporate lawyer (yes, Elle Woods did inspire that last bit).
  2. I still LOVE cooking and interior design. I have a thing for furniture shopping and always have.
  3. I used to hate bright lipstick but thanks to J, I love them now.
  4. I’m 5’6, or 1.69 metres. My dream height for the longest time was 1.72 metres, but that never happened. I stopped growing in about grade 9 or so.
  5. I’m an entrepreneur! Check out mine and J’s event production company at www.lycheeproductions.com
  6. I used to be an avid reader, reading a novel a day back in high school. Later in university, reading dropped to the bottom of my to-do list, but I’ve been trying to get back into it ever since.
  7. I’ve loved makeup since maybe grade 3, but I didn’t fully get into the artistry of makeup until university though, previously I believed in “more is more”.
  8. I absolutely despise snow. This was carried over from my days of living in cold, cold Ontario. Whenever it snows in Vancouver, it just annoys the heck out of me.
  9. I’m really obsessive about certain things, like people are not allowed to sit or lie on my bed with their “outside clothes.” The only person who I gave an exception to for that rule is my boyfriend, and even still he thinks I’m weird.
  10. My absolute favourite activity in the world is eating. I love food and the lifestyle surrounding food. My favourite foods are soup noodles, sushi, and hot pot.
  11. I like to hang out at grocery stores, even if I’m not actually buying groceries. I just like to browse, and find it very relaxing.
  12. I’m very outgoing in front of people, but I an introvert. Most people find this surprising, but at the end of the day, I still like to be quiet and alone in my room to recharge.
  13. I have a younger brother who I love very dearly.
  14. I am known as an “enabler” to most people who know me. For some reason, I’m pretty persuasive when it comes to convincing people to buy things they don’t reeeeeally need.
  15. I was an insurance salesperson for a few months after graduating university. I couldn’t find a job in my field, so I did what I had to do. It was easily the most difficult job I’ve had up to this point in my life, but I am very thankful for this experience and it’s taught me so many things that I will never forget.
  16. I am both a coffee and a tea person.
  17. I drink my coffee with a dash of half-and-half and a dash of 2% milk. I have no idea why I do that but I find it tastes better than purely half-and-half or purely milk.
  18. I’m addicted to Starbucks. My favourite Starbucks drink of all time is a grande green tea frappucino with 2x the matcha powder in a venti cup with extra whip.
  19. If I’ve been to a particular restaurant before, I tend to order the same dish every single time. I’ve been a lot better with that lately, and trying to branch out and try different things. I once went to Pearl Castle four times in one week and each time ordered the milk seafood udon.
  20. I’m okay with buying multiples of the same thing if I like it enough. I have three pairs of Ferragamo Vara pumps in different colours, and also I buy basics (such as turtlenecks) in multiple colours in the same design.
  21. My horoscope sign is Cancer… and I’m pretty typically Cancer. I’m a homebody and fiercely loyal to my family and the people I care about.
  22. 98% of my friends are gamers, including my brother, and boyfriend. I’ve tried to get into it over the years, even buying a Nintendo DSi to play on, but failed miserably. I think I just have a short attention span and get bored of the game really easily.
  23. I don’t like surprises and will often read a Wikipedia plot summary before watching a movie or starting a new TV show. Unlike most people, I actually welcome spoilers.
  24. I love to travel, and have been all over Europe twice, lived in England for 3 months, traveled for a bit around China, some of north-east US, and down the west coast of the US. I would like to temporarily move to another country for work eventually, but my heart has and always will remain in Vancouver.
  25. I was vegetarian for about a year, but then I rediscovered my love for meat and now I can’t live without it.
  26. I learned Cantonese by watching TVB dramas. I speak Mandarin at home with my family, or English to my brother when we don’t want our mom to understand us. I was also in French immersion at school so I learned French for 7 years, Spanish for 3, and Japanese for 5. I’ve forgotten most, if not all, of my Spanish and Japanese, and my French is slowly wilting away too.
  27. Like Angela and J, I can’t watch horror movies. Anything gory or violent, I run away from. I remember watching Final Destination with my brother and I spent the entire time hiding behind the couch.
  28. I have a thing for SHOES… but wait, who doesn’t?
  29. My dream is to own a townhouse in the city. I’m still trying to save up for that; my goal is to be able to put down a down payment by the time I turn 28.
  30. I read Buzzfeed every day, it’s my guilty pleasure and the lists are so entertaining!
8 thoughts on “30 Random things about me.. #Tag!

  1. This is so nice. You seem like a very cool person! I also think food is the most important thing…I love the culture and attitude of food =) I have to try that green tea drink from Starbucks! I’ve seen it advertised before but I always get my basic cappuccino :p

  2. i really want to learn more cantonese and was thinking of watching tv to do ti too!! its my ‘native’ language so it should be easier to pick up vocab. i really wish i could read and write though..

  3. I just learned another thing I love about hanging out with you and J–nobody will ever suggest watching a scary movie! >:)
    Must try the green tea frappuccino with extra matcha next time. Didn’t know you could ask for that!

  4. I really enjoyed reading this and learning more about you!! I think I am the same way you describe yourself in #12. I think a LOT of people would be surprised that I consider myself a bit of an introvert just because of how I present myself to groups of people. I’m so impressed by all the languages you have learned – even if you haven’t retained them all, I still think it’s impressive 😉

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

