All About Eyes – a smokey eye look by Clinique!

clinique all about eyes swatch and review

Today’s eye look is all about Clinique, the eye makeup collection which is also coincidentally called “All About Eyes” (ha ha!). I love a good neutral smokey eye; it is something that goes with any kind of lipstick, blush, and outfit.

clinique all about eyes swatch and review

For this look, I used Clinique’s All About Shadow Quad in 02 Jenna’s Essentials, which is a neutral smokey palette. The pigmentation is medium and the texture is relatively dry when swatched on bare arms, but when applied with an eyeshadow primer, the colours are more intense and it also applies more smoothly.

clinique all about eyes swatch and review

I used the shimmery taupe as an all over wash of colour, the chocolate in my crease, the white to highlight and the black to line and smoke out. The level of smokiness can be easily controlled by adding less or more black, which is great for versatility.

I wore this look as part of my #24days challenge with Annabelle Cosmetics and as suspected, this eye look matched perfectly with all 24 shades of lipsticks. This look is perfect for the day, then add a bit of mascara and some false lashes, and you’re ready for a night out.

clinique all about eyes swatch and review

The eyeshadows worked perfectly with the Clinique All About Eyes Primer. I had particularly oily eye lids so I wasn’t a fan of this primer – my eyeshadow started creasing about 5 hours in. If you have more normal to slightly oily eyelids, you might find this primer a better fit for you. It really does help to significantly raise the intensity of the pigments in the eyeshadow.

The Clinique All About Shadow Quad in 02 Jenna’s Essentials is swatched here, on the left without primer and on the right with primer.

clinique all about eyes swatch and review

In addition to the eyeshadow quads, there are also super easy to use eyeshadow duos, the All About Shadow Duo. This one is in 15 Uptown Downtown. The situation is the same as the quad in that the powders are a bit dry, but when applied with primer, the colours pop a lot more. On the left is on bare arms and on right is with primer.

What do you think, will you be trying the Clinique All About Shadow palettes?

clinique all about eyes swatch and review
clinique all about eyes swatch and review
clinique all about eyes swatch and review
clinique all about eyes swatch and review

13 thoughts on “All About Eyes – a smokey eye look by Clinique!

  1. I quite like Clinique shadows! I I have the Strawberry Fudge duo, the Day into Date Duo, the Beach Plum duo, and the Foxy single. All have good pigmentation and apply beautifully! I apply everything over MAC Paint Pot in Painterly.

  2. I adore small and versatile eyeshadows compacts. It makes travelling and touch ups easier. I’ll definitely keep my eyes on the Clinique counter. The duo looks amazing

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

