Fall trends I’m loving!

Normally fall is one of those seasons that I suddenly recoil back into my hermit shell with regards to style and outfit selection – I am a lover of blacks and greys during the time of year when I live in a city fondly known as Raincouver. People who know me in real life also knows that I don’t really follow trends; my wardrobe is mostly filled with classic pieces that can be worn season after season. That being said, I have fallen in love with a few trends that really called out to me this year. Below is a feature of some of my favourite trends for fall.

1. Flounce skirts

flounce skirt

The peplum trend has moved to skirts! I am all for the girly hemlines, including the flounce skirt trend that’s now available at most major retailers. Above are examples of my two favourites, from a store I love – Club Monaco. On the left is a more playful mini-skirt with a flounced hem made in a casual neoprene material, on the right is a style that’s more conservative and definitely office-appropriate. I picked up the skirt on the right in blue, because it’s just the perfect amount of “flounce,” not to long so that it looks like a mermaid tail, and not to short so that it just looks like a frill.

2. Pop top dresses

pop top dress

A more conservative alternative for the crop top dresses that are showing up on runways everywhere, the pop top dress is great for lengthening your legs, slimming your waist, and boosting your bust. I purchased a version from Ann Taylor last summer and I’ve been loving it ever since. Two of my favourite examples of this style (above)Β are the dress that Victoria Beckham wore while shopping at J. Crew during NYFW, and the Whistles Daisy dress, which sadly is sold out. Unfortunately these are currently hard to find at mainstream retailers, so I’ve been trying to make do with a high-waisted pencil skirt and a cropped top, like this outfit (below), wearing a skirt from Diane von Furstenburg, lace top from Joie, and sleeveless silk blouse from Aritzia.

Photo 2013-06-19 9 02 43 PM

 

Thanks to MizzJ for the photos πŸ™‚

3. Leather

image1xl

To me, fall is all about the wool and leather. Leather skirts are all the rage this year, and as we transition into fall, we’re seeing more leather jackets as well. Specifically this year, we’re seeing lots of leather panels on classic pieces such as pencil skirts and sheath dresses. A trend I’m loving is the leather skater skirt, it’s a flexible that can be paired with anything from a girly blouse for a girl’s night out, to a casual sweater for a coffee date. Also because it is a full skirt, it is super comfy to wear and you never have to worry about a Ross-incident happening on you. Above are two of the styles that caught my eye: on the left is a classic black and white colourblockedΒ mini leather skirt, this one can be easily paired with a colourful top such as a plum silk blouse or a red t-shirt; on the right is a midi-length skirt in a beautiful red colour, the midi length is conservative but that’s immediately redeemed with the gorgeous red leather.

Are there any trends you’re looking forward to this fall? Please share some of your favourites.

4 thoughts on “Fall trends I’m loving!

  1. Great post Sheila and I absolutely agree with you on all these trends! We need to go somewhere fancy so I can see that gorgeous blue skirt in action!

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

