Review: Clarins Extra-Comfort Anti-Ageing Foundation (+ swatch comparisons)

clarins extra comfort foundation swatch and review

For Fall 2013, Clarins is releasing a new cream anti-ageing foundation – the Extra-Comfort foundation. Available in 6 shades, the Extra-Comfort foundation has an SPF of 15 and ingredients such as camellia leaf extract to ensure that the skin is supple, soft and comfortable, in addition to protection against sun damage and environmental aggressions. It’s available in 6 shades for light to medium skin tones.

Clarins extra comfort foundation shades

The Extra-Comfort foundation is touted to be medium to high coverage, which is 100% true. I love the way that this foundation is buildable, starting off with medium coverage but buildable to a full coverage without being cakey. It dries down to a semi-matte finish, and powder is optional. It spreads around very well due to the high-silicone ingredients list, and blends in seamlessly.

While it is not promoted as a long-wearing foundation, I found that because it dries down to a semi-matte finish, it is relatively long wearing compares to my other foundations (such a Chanel Vitalumiere Aqua). Blush lasted very well on top of this foundation, with nearly zero fading for the entire length of the wear.

clarins extra comfort foundation swatch and review

That being said, I felt that it wasn’t a very hydrating foundation, per se. It was actually quite drying on my skin. I tested this foundation in August, which is not a dry month. This is why it kind of baffled me when it was still drying on my skin, especially because it is promoted to be a “comfortable” foundation. In addition, because it is an anti-aging foundation, I had higher expectations for it to be more hydrating. In terms of the luminosity… I didn’t really see any natural glow, which was also disappointing.

One way I found that helped to increase hydration and luminosity was to spray my face with a hydrating toner after applying this foundation, letting it dry, and then lightly powdering my face. It creates a beautiful glow that lasts through the whole day. The downside was that wear time also diminished. Nonetheless, I felt that it was too much work because you can receive the same kind of glow with other foundations without the extra step.

I received shade 107 Beige, which is an okay match for my MAC NC25, Chanel B20 Beige skin tone. It is slightly leaning towards the pink side, but if I don’t build it up too much then you can’t really tell the pink in the shade.

Swatches from left to right: Clarins Extra-Comfort Foundation in 107 Beige, Bourjois Happy Mix Serum in 53, Chanel Vitalumiere Aqua in B20 Beige

clarins extra comfort foundation swatch and review
clarins extra comfort foundation swatch and review

Do I recommend this? Not really. If you are set on getting this, however, I would recommend this foundation to you if you are looking for a long-wearing foundation, and if you have normal, combination or oily skin. If you have dry skin and need a long-wearing foundation, just make sure to do lots of moisturizing and priming beforehands to get a smooth, plump base before you apply this on, otherwise you might get dry patches. However, if you are looking for a hydrating foundation, this is probably not the one for you.

The Clarins Extra-Comfort Foundation is available now at Clarins counters in Canada, priced at $56 for 30mL (1 oz).

Ingredients list:

clarins extra comfort foundation swatch and review

clarins extra comfort foundation swatch and review

6 thoughts on “Review: Clarins Extra-Comfort Anti-Ageing Foundation (+ swatch comparisons)

  1. Thank you for the review! I was thinking when I saw the title and first paragraph that it was something that I’d want to try but know that it’s not something that will work for me.

  2. I actually really enjoy cream foundations like this but they are quite rich and more on the dry side. I used to have the Paul & Joe foundation that is in a similar jar and while I loved its thickness…I was also put off by its dryness on my skin! :/

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

