Review: Clinique CC Cream (+ comparison swatches)

clinique cc cream review and swatches

Clinique CC Cream is new for summer 2013 and is another product in the sea of BB/CC/DD creams. What makes Clinique CC Cream different is that it is a part of the Moisture Surge line, which means it is great for dry skin in need of a boost of moisture. It also has SPF 30 for some sun protection (although you should never rely on your foundation to give you enough sun protection for the day, always apply sunscreen underneath!).

I used Clinique CC Cream for a few weeks to test its wear and I have to say I’m on the fence about this one. On one hand, I do feel that it is moisturizing and good at covering redness, but on the other hand, I feel that the wear time is a bit disappointing because it’s starting to fade and get eaten up by my skin after just a few hours. By the 8-9 hour mark, it has mostly faded. I understand that it is one of the tradeoffs of it being moisturizing, is that it likely won’t be long wearing.

It is great at covering redness around my cheeks and nose area, which is what it’s touted to do, as a colour correcting base. Another good thing is that I experienced very little transfer of the foundation from my face to my glasses, in the areas where my glasses touch my face (i.e. the side of my nose and the top of my cheekbones). I also felt that my skin was very comfortable while wearing this; it was natural the point that I didn’t feel like I was wearing any base product.

The shade I have is Light, which looks really light in the swatch but is actually a pretty good match for my MAC NC25, Chanel B20 Beige skin tone. Coverage is about medium, and is somewhat buildable but not buildable to a full coverage (will become too heavy and cakey). While I didn’t see any luminosity from the product itself (yay for no shimmer!), I liked that it was a natural glow from its hydrating properties.

Swatches from left to right: Clinique CC Cream in Light, Bourjois Happy Mix Serum in 53, Chanel Vitalumiere Aqua in B20 Beige.

clinique cc cream review and swatches

Do I recommend it? To be honest, not really. I think there are better products on the market that you can get for better value and does a better job. I really need my foundation last throughout the workday, so the the fact that it disappears after a few hours is a bit disappointing. Priced at $39 for 30mL, you can buy this at Shoppers Drug Mart Beauty Boutique, the Bay, Holt Renfrew and Clinique counters nationwide.

clinique cc cream review and swatches
clinique cc cream review and swatches

7 thoughts on “Review: Clinique CC Cream (+ comparison swatches)

  1. Still confused what a cc cream is haha, would a bb cream last longer than a cc cream then? I really like using Smashbox tinted moisturizer with SPF 15 (kind of low…) but it’s great at covering redness and lasts the whole day for me. I got it at shoppers, I think it’s discontinued at sephora now. I wear glassess too, and I never had any problems with transferring 🙂

    Whitney

    • Yes it was definitely leaning towards pink in colour. My skintone is more neutral so it wasn’t as obvious, but I can see how it can create a problem for some people.

  2. Whitney~ CC cream is completely different than BB. It’s a different product altogether – BB provides coverage, and it acts like a foundation. CC cream is still makeup, but it works more like skincare in the sense that most CC creams are tinted but work to get rid of color imperfections in skin tone, brightening, etc. It doesn’t aim to provide coverage (i.e. it’s for people with halfway decent skin already).

    FWIW my HG CC cream is the Face Shop aura CC cream 😀 (and I’ve tried a lot, including clinique’s)

    • I think the original BB Creams are supposed to provide skincare benefits too, but then it totally evolved to the point that for companies to promote CC cream, they had to tone down the benefits of BB creams so that people would be able to accept this new CC cream concept. And then Marcelle came out with DD creams now too…

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

