Review: Clarins Double Serum Complete Age Control Concentrate

Clarins Double Serum Complete Age Control Concentrate review

I received a sample of the Clarins Double Serum Complete Age Control Concentrate a few months ago, apologies for not getting the review up sooner. I started using it for two weeks and then my mom saw how amazing it was so she took it. Not surprising that I did not get it back!

My skin profile: I have very dehydrated cheeks with a t-zone that gets oily. I occasionally get break-outs, usually 1-2 around that time of the month. My main skin concerns are hyper-pigmentation and dehydration in the cheek area and fine lines in the eye area. My ideal skincare products are ones that provide good moisture to my skin, absorb quickly and leave no left-over product sitting on top of my skin.

What it claims (from Clarins.ca): More than just a serum, this is the only intensive anti-ageing treatment rich in 20 plant extracts that boosts the skin’s vital functions. A unique formula that can be used in two ways for a visibly youthful look:
– skin is firmer, wrinkles are smoother,
– complexion is even and regains its glow
– pores are less visible.

Price: $85 CAD / $85 USD for 30mL

Texture/Scent: Product contains two parts – the hydric and lipitic system – one part facial oil plus one part water-based serum that mixes together to be a light, slightly slick, serum. Scent is a very light floral scent that is very clean smelling.

The good: This product is probably the first facial oil that I really liked using. While it doesn’t absorb as quickly as water-based serums, it does completely absorb into my skin unlike other facial oils that may be too heavy. I don’t think that it is too heavy for my t-zone area either, which is where my skin is not as dry. It is very moisturizing, but not heavy, and I wake up with super (emphasis on the super) soft, supple and plumped up skin. The scent is an added bonus as I feel like I am having a spa treatment done when I massage this on my face before bed. It helps me sleep better at night as well. It did not clog my pores, which is important with facial oils.

  • Moisturizing
  • Aromatherapy properties
  • Absorbs well
  • Skin is plumped up and very soft
  • Did not clog pores

The bad: I found that I went through the serum really quickly, even though it was 30mL, which is the normal size for facial serums, in the two weeks I used this product, it was probably already down 1/3 of the bottle. It is quite expensive for the amount you get.

  • Expensive

Overall: While I can’t comment on the anti-aging properties of this serum, I really love that it helped to plump up my skin. In a totally non-creepy way, I looked forward to touching my face in the morning because it was just so soft after a night of using this product. I would recommend it to anyone in their late 20s or older as I feel they would appreciate the anti-aging properties more. It is a fantastic facial oil for normal, dry-combination, or dry skin types as the oil sinks in the skin really well. Overall, I really like!

Product: 18/20
Packaging: 3.5/5
Value: 2/5
Overall: 23.5/30 | B+
Repurchase? Yes, when I get older and need it more.

Ingredients:

Water, Cetearyl Isononanoate, Paraffinum Liquidum/Mineral Oil/Huile Minerale, Glycerin, Pentylene Glycol, Ppg-3 Myristyl Ether, Butylene Glycol, Hydrogenated Styrene/Isoprene Copolymer, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Oxydendron Arboreum Leaf/Stem Callus Culture Extract, Tromethamine, Hydroxyphenoxy Propionic Acid, Sodium Pca, Parfum/Fragrance, Maltodextrin, Phenoxyethanol, Macadamia Ternifolia Seed Oil, Perilla Ocymoides Seed Oil, Carbomer, Propylene Glycol Dicaprylate/Dicaprate, Tocopheryl Acetate, Avena Sativa (Oat) Kernel Extract, Sodium Hyaluronate, Diethyl Hexyl Adipate, Rosa Canina Fruit Oil, Carum Petroselinum (Parsley) Extract, Pinus Pinaster Bark Extract, Persea Gratissima (Avocado) Oil Unsaponifiables, Pistacia Lentiscus (Mastic) Gum Oil, Xanthan Gum, Atractyloides Lancea Root Extract, Salicyloyl Phyto, Sphingosine, Solanum Lycopersicum (Tomato) Fruit Extract, Arnica Montana Flower Extract, Citric Acid, Sodium Benzoate, Cedrelopsis Grevei Bark Extract, Tocopherol, Chenopodium Quinoa Seed Extract, Althaea Officinalis Root Extract, Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract, Musa Sapientum (Banana) Fruit Extract, Thymus Citriodorus Flower/Leaf Extract, Actinidia Chinensis (Kiwi) Fruit Extract, Arctium Lappa Root Extract, Humulus Lupulus (Hops) Extract, Castanea Sativa (Chestnut) Bark Extract, Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Oil, Potassium Sorbate, Bocoa Prouacensis Extract, Pentapeptide-31, Ascorbic Acid.

Clarins Double Serum Complete Age Control Concentrate review

8 thoughts on “Review: Clarins Double Serum Complete Age Control Concentrate

  1. How interesting Sheila! So many people love this one and I’m the only person on the fence about it. I think it’s nice and feels lovely on my skin but it just doesn’t nothing for me! Sigh..

    • I think facial oils in general are very hit-and-miss. There are so many that receive rave review, like Kiehl’s Midnight Recovery, but I sadly can’t use. I know you like the Kiehl’s Midnight Recovery so I’m glad you did find one that you like!

  2. I heard about this from a friend too….but is it really worth $85? I have a super dry skin…and no matter what facial cream I use, I have skins peeling off….

    • Hi Sophia, if you have SUPER dry skin, I would look into getting something heavier. I really like Ren Rose O12 facial oil or Boscia Tsubaki oil. Both are great for ultra dry skin types. After you use your base layer of oil (one or two drops for your face and neck), apply some moisturizer to seal in the oil and you should wake up with glowing skin. Hope that helps! =)

    • Yeah that is very unfortunate. BUT the good news is, they are coming out with a 50mL jumbo size bottle later this year, priced at $113, nearly double the size! So watch out for it =)

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

