Review: Vichy Aqualia Thermal Night Spa

Vichy Aqualia Thermal Night Spa review

Sleeping masks are all the rage lately with Western beauty brands. While they’ve been popular in Asia for many years already, I find that Western beauty brands are doing it better. Vichy Aqualia Thermal Night Spa is an example of a fantastic interpretation of the sleeping mask.

I applied a thick later of this every other night on my skin, and gave myself a nice massage to allow the product to sink into my skin. It absorbs well with the bit of massage, leaving the skin slightly tacky, which is good because there is a protective barrier that won’t allow any product evaporation throughout the night. In the morning, I wake up with super supple skin that is plumped up and helps my makeup adhere better to my skin, especially in the cold morning air and then into the dry office environment.

I found that if I used this any more than every other night, or every 3rd night, it would be a lot less effective and the results not as obvious. I also tried to use this every night for a few days and found that it made me break out slightly (just one or two pimples). However if used every other night or 2-3 times a week, it was perfect.

You can also use this product as a quick pick-me-up during the day, leaving a thick layer of it on your skin, wiping off with a cotton pad soaked in toner, and then go on about your normal skincare routine. This is perfect to perk up your skin before a night out on the town or if refreshing your makeup before dinner.

This blue-tinted gel reminds me of Laneige’s cult product – the Water Sleeping Pack – but that is so much gentler on the skin. The main difference is that the Vichy Night Spa doesn’t contain the alcohol that is one of the main ingredients in the Laneige version. It does, however, contain dimethicone, which some people may be sensitive to.

Priced at $44 for 75mL, the Vichy Aqualia Thermal Night Spa is available at local drugstores, or wherever Vichy is sold.

Vichy Aqualia Thermal Night Spa review

Ingredients:

Vichy Aqualia Thermal Night Spa review
Vichy Aqualia Thermal Night Spa review

4 thoughts on “Review: Vichy Aqualia Thermal Night Spa

  1. This sounds so interesting! I hadn’t heard of these before. My only concern is that you’d have to sleep perfectly on your back or risk getting your pillow all dirty? As a stomach sleeper, I’m kinda worried about counteracting any benefits by rubbing it all into my sheets.

    • It eventually absorbs into your skin. I sleep on my side and I haven’t noticed anything come off onto the pillow. I think as long as you don’t put a super thick layer on (which is not good anyways), it should be fine.

  2. Pingback: Winter skincare – Vichy Aqualia Thermal Serum & La Roche-Posay Toleriane Ultra Fluide | *Maddy Loves

  3. Pingback: Featuring supplementary skincare – essence lotions, pre-serums, facial oils, eye serums, and more! | *Maddy Loves

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

