Review: Kiehl’s Skin Rescuer

Kiehl's Skin Rescuer review

My daytime job is cyclical, and I am very busy from January to June every year, this also means my stress level is constantly going up until it peaks in June. Because of this, for half of the year my skin is in overdrive with the stress and the lack of sleep, meaning I need something to calm it down. Coincidentally, earlier this year Kiehl’s released the Skin Rescuer, designed for the stressed-out skin.

My skin profile: I have very dehydrated cheeks with a t-zone that gets oily. I occasionally get break-outs, usually 1-2 around that time of the month. My main skin concerns are hyper-pigmentation and dehydration in the cheek area and fine lines in the eye area. My ideal skincare products are ones that provide good moisture to my skin, absorb quickly and leave no left-over product sitting on top of my skin.

What it claims (from Kiehl’s.ca): Reduces the look of skin’s signs of stress, including skin fatigue and redness due to dry skin with Rosa Gallica Botanical Extract, Mannose and Chamomile. Our lightweight formula diminishes the look of signs of stress such as skin fatigue and redness due to dry skin, while fortifying the skin barrier over time, leaving it less susceptible to the effects of ongoing daily stressors. This moisturizing treatment, formulated with Rosa Gallica Botanical Extract and Mannose, helps minimize skin’s visible response to stress while protecting and strengthening the skin barrier; enriched with Chamomile this formula provides instant comfort. Our unique daily moisturizer leaves skin more resistant to stressors while delivering all day hydration to reveal a healthy-looking, well-balanced complexion with fresh and replenished looking skin.

Price: $42 CAD / $40 USD for 75mL

Texture/Scent: Thick gel-creme texture, reminds me of the texture of the Ultra Facial Moisturizer, but in in a pump bottle. Completely scent-free.

The good: This moisturizer is definitely hydrating without being heavy. It preps my skin well for sunscreen and the makeup that follows. I used this during the change of seasons and I noticed that it did significantly calm my skin down, especially in a time of high stress and seasonal weather changes, so I can say that it does deliver what it’s meant to. The value of this moisturizer is also good in that it is a bigger bottle compared to normal moisturizers, at a reasonable price. I also like that the US/Canada price disparity isn’t huge, which is a bonus for us Canadian shoppers.

  • Moisturizing
  • Calms skin down
  • Preps skin for sunscreen and makeup
  • Good value for price/volume of product

The bad: The packaging is a little troublesome to use. While I like that it is hygienic in a pump bottle, the cream that comes out is quite thick for something that comes out of a pump. I feel like there will be significant product wasted when I slowly work to the end. If Kiehl’s is considering a packaging tweak, I think a squeeze tube might be better.

  • Inconvenient packaging

Overall: This is a simple, no-frills moisturizer that just has one purpose – hydrate the skin. Even though it has all of the claims, as listed above, I find that it is really a simple moisturizer, which is exactly what it should be. Stressed out skin usually means sensitive skin, and sensitive skin needs simple, to-the-point products that deliver results. I would recommend this product to people with sensitive skin, or normal to dry skin. It might also work for people with dry-combination skin in the winter times, but not in the summer as it is quite thick.

Product: 16/20
Packaging: 2/5
Value: 4/5
Overall: 22/30 | B
Repurchase? Likely yes.

Kiehl's Skin Rescuer review

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

