Get ready for summer with Marcelle Jelly Cheek Flush!

Marcelle Jelly Cheek Flush swatch and review

A few weeks ago, I suddenly had this urge to buy cheek tints. Coincidentally, Marcelle released two limited edition jelly cheek tints for Summer 2013, inspired by Givenchy’s Blush Gelée. I tried Givenchy’s Blush Gelée when it was first released a few summers back but I was disappointed at the low pigmentation and the intense layering required to get even a smidgen of colour. However I was super interested to see how the Marcelle version would fare.

Lo and behold, the Marcelle Jelly Cheek Flush is maybe 100x better than the Givenchy version. Pigmentation alone is ramped up significantly, in in addition to being very easy to blend, and looking very natural. I’ve been wearing this everyday for the past week and I also found that it is very long lasting, staying put on my cheeks for 14 hours at least (I tested it for 14 hours on one day) with zero fading.

Marcelle Jelly Cheek Flush swatch and review

Marcelle Jelly Cheek Flush is available in two shades – Rosy Tint (left) and Flushed Coral (right). Rosy Tint is exactly what the name says, an ultra natural, rosy-pink flush that looks great on all skin tones. Flushed coral has a little bit more of a red/brown undertone, and would look great on medium to darker skin tones.

Marcelle Jelly Cheek Flush swatch and review
Marcelle Jelly Cheek Flush swatch and review

Priced at just $16.95 and available at most stores selling Marcelle (London Drugs has it for sure, although I haven’t seen it at Shoppers yet), there is no reason why you should resist getting this blush. Compared to Givenchy’s price of $38, you can even get both of the Marcelle blushes. It is limited edition though, so you might want to grab some NOW!

The only minor qualm I have about the blush is the packaging, which dispenses the product out of a sponge. While currently it is very easy to just dot on the cheek and blend, I believe that in the long term I’ll have to try to find a way to somehow clean the sponge in order to prevent bacterial growth.

Marcelle Jelly Cheek Flush swatch and review

I really hope that Marcelle releases this blush in their permanent range, with more colour options because I can already tell that this product will be something I will use regularly this summer.

Marcelle Jelly Cheek Flush swatch and review

6 thoughts on “Get ready for summer with Marcelle Jelly Cheek Flush!

  1. I am so JELLY of you! Wish I had bought these when I first saw them. Now I can’t find them anywhere! At least we know Marcelle is bringing back other LE things 😉

  2. Pingback: Everyday favourites – blushes! | *Maddy Loves

  3. I bought both the shades last year (thinking the same as you did with the Givenchy reference) but was thoroughly disappointed. My coral had too much gold sparkle and while it had great pigmentation, I couldn’t blend it out for the life of me. If I used my fingers, the colour would go patchy and stick to my fingers instead of my cheeks. If I used the attached puff it was too much colour. Sadly in the end, I gave up and just sent it to the bin.

    • Aww that’s too bad, Gerry! I like the pink one more than the coral one, but I definitely did not have those problems with blending. I find that you do have to apply a bit more though, like I dot it on my cheeks 3-4 times then blend, and then it’s a good amount of “flush.” I’m so sorry to hear it didn’t work out on you though 😦

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

