The one that got away: Chanel Joues Contraste in Rouge

Chanel Joues Contraste in Rouge review swatches

Have you ever wanted something but restrained yourself, and then have it be taken away forever? That longing for something you no longer have because it’s no longer produced, but the sane part in you refuses to pay 2x the mark-up to acquire it for your collection. That was my experience with Chanel Joues Constrate in Rouge, a once limited edition blush from the Byzantine de Chanel collection released for pre-Fall 2011.

The first time I tried this blush on, I was on the fence about it. I was unemployed at the time and freshly graduated from university, so I felt like I didn’t deserve another blush, albeit how much it was different, limited edition, and looked so amazing on my cheeks. I didn’t buy it, and of course it was sold out almost immediately and I regretted my decision for the next two years. I refused to pay the high prices from eBay, so I waited it out to see if I would find it anywhere else.

Chanel Joues Contraste in Rouge review swatches

Luckily for me, I learned that Chanel re-released this product into the permanent collection in Asia, and I managed to snatch one from Strawberrynet, one of my favourite, and most reliable online retailers for cosmetics (no, this post is not sponsored). I recently received it and it was every bit as beautiful and unique as I had remembered it to be.

Rouge (now assigned a number like all other permanent Chanel blushes – 79), is a fiery red blush with specks of gold shimmer. It applies incredibly smoothly and non-patchy. This comes only in Chanel’s baked blush formula, which usually means that it is sheer, but this one is actually super – with a lot of emphasis – pigmented. The swatch you see is just from one swirl in the pan with my index finger for both the heavy swatch and the blended one. You only need to touch your blush brush to the pan ever so slightly and you will get an intense colour.

My cheeks are naturally quite red, so I need to do a decent amount of cover-up before I apply this, otherwise it will just accentuate the redness in my skin.

All in all, I’m very happy to have finally found this. While this takes more effort to apply in the morning due to how pigmented it is, it does give me the more natural blush of colour. I doubt I will ever need a backup, but that also means I can focus on finding other things that are on my wishlist but are too late to buy retail.

Thanks for reading!

Chanel Joues Contraste in Rouge review swatches
Chanel Joues Contraste in Rouge review swatches

You can more clearly see the gold shimmery-sheen that is subtle and just beautiful.

Chanel Joues Contraste in Rouge review swatches
Chanel Joues Contraste in Rouge review swatches
Chanel Joues Contraste in Rouge review swatches
Chanel Joues Contraste in Rouge review swatches

8 thoughts on “The one that got away: Chanel Joues Contraste in Rouge

  1. It’s totally gorgeous!! Do you get charged duty ordering from Strawberry.net? I ordered from them once when I lived in the UK and was nailed for a horrendous amount of duty. Last time I ordered from them!

    • Sometimes I get charged duty, sometimes I don’t. Strawberrynet is great because they actually refund your duty if you ever get charged it, courtesy on their end!

  2. This is one of the most beautiful colours chanel has ever done, it looks amazing on almost everyone. I like it a lot in winter and fall actually. I am so glad that I got it >.<

    • Hi Lisa, unfortunately I haven’t tried Nars Exhibit A so I can’t comment on how it wears/looks. From the swatches online, it looks like Exhibit A is much more orange/coral than a red with gold, which is what Chanel Rouge is. I hope that helps!

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

