Review: Bioderma Hydrabio Serum Moisturizing Concentrate (very dehydrated and sensitive skin)

Bioderma Hydrabio Serum review

After hearing so much about Bioderma on blogs and Youtube reviews, I received a small sample of the Hydrabio Serum as a gift with purchase from Murale, a high end beauty boutique in Canada. After using it for a week, I was completely hooked on this product. Its simple, no frills, but works great on dehydrated skin like mine. I’ve recommended it to countless friends and other beauty bloggers as a quick way to plump up the skin while still feeling weightless.

My skin profile: I have very dehydrated cheeks with a t-zone that gets oily. I occasionally get break-outs, usually 1-2 around that time of the month. My main skin concerns are hyper-pigmentation and dehydration in the cheek area and fine lines in the eye area. My ideal skincare products are ones that provide good moisture to my skin, absorb quickly and leave no left-over product sitting on top of my skin.

What it claims (from Murale.ca): Moisturizing concentrate for sensitive and very dehydrated skin. Generates intense hydration and leaves skin fresh and radiance.

Price: $43 CAD for 40mL

Texture/Scent: Light gel with a sutble powdery scent

The good: This gel-serum absorbs instantly to plump up my skin with its hydrating properties. It really does hydrate my skin well, in addition to prepping the surface of the skin for foundation. It is also relatively inexpensive as most serums are 30mL whereas this one is 40mL and costs for $43.

  • Hydrating but weightless
  • Leaves no residue
  • Absorbs instantly
  • Relatively inexpensive

The bad: Because it does absorbs instantly, I find that you need a little more than usual just to spread around. I use 2-3 pumps of it on my skin every morning, which is more than what I would use with other serums (usually just 1-2 pumps). That being said, I’ve had my bottle for 3 months, use it every morning, and I’m still not done yet. I also know that Bioderma is very hard to find in certain countries, which is a major con as well.

  • Need more than usual
  • Hard to find

Overall: This is one my favourite hydrating serums, along with La Roche-Posay Hydraphase Serum Intense, reviewed here. After using it for months, I know that it really does work. It helps to keep flakey skin at bay, plumping the skin and prepping it for day cream, foundation and makeup. The only main downside is that it is really hard to find, even in Canada you can only find it in limited distribution at certain drugstores. If you are able to find it, though, I highly recommend that you try it. I would recommend this for all skin types, not just the very dehydrated or sensitive. Even if you have oily skin, this will work great to keep your skin hydrated and balanced throughout the day.

Product: 19/20
Packaging: 3.5/5
Value: 4.5/5
Overall: 27/30 | A
Repurchase? Definitely

Ingredients: WATER (AQUA). GLYCERIN, XYLITOL, SODIUM POLYACRYLATE, MANNITOL, RHAMNOSE, FRUCTOOLIGOSACCHARIDES, LAMINARIA, OCHROLEUCA EXTRACT, NICINAMIDE, PYRUS MALUS (APPLE) FRUIT EXTRACT, DIMETHICONE, CYCLOPENTASILOXANE, TRIDECETH-6, PEG/PPG-18//18 DIMETHICONE, SODUIM HYALURONATE, HEXYLDECANOL, CAPRYLIC/CAPRIC TRIGLYCERIDE, DISODUIM EDTA, CHLORPHENESIN, PHENOXYETHANOL, FRAGRANCE (PARFUM)

Bioderma Hydrabio Serum review

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

