Quick skincare reviews: La Roche-Posay Hydraphase Intense Serum & Mela-D Pigment Control Concentrated Correcting Serum

Back with some skincare reviews! I’ve been focusing on mostly skincare products in the past couple of months, buying a few makeup products here and there (Chanel Notorious for one, yes it really does live up to the hype!). I’ve become less experimental with makeup since I started working in a corporate environment. Even on weekends I no longer feel that motivated to try new makeup looks. I’m now even more determined on my search for the perfect skincare products, though, and today I would like to share two different products for different purposes but both of which I am loving.

La Roche-Posay is a mid-range skincare brand that can be found at many drugstores. Their products are Made in France with simple ingredients that really do work. Apart from these two products on my countertop, I also have their Effaclar-K which I use when my skin is congested.

La Roche-Posay Hydraphase Intense Serum

IMG_6523

  • Texture: Light translucent gel that becomes watery upon touch
  • Scent: Scent-free
  • Effect: Light, absorbs quickly, quick boost of moisture, no residue
  • Price: $41 for 30mL from Shoppers Drug Mart
  • Overall: I love the way this absorbs into my skin. It is very light but is very hydrating, providing my skin with the perfect boost of moisture. I find this works great in the morning because it sinks in so quickly, it is perfect under makeup. It is scent-free, which is a bonus, especially for people with sensitive skin. If you have sensitive, dehydrated normal or dehydrated combination skin, I would highly recommend this as a basic hydrating serum. If you have dry skin, you might need something richer or just use a richer moisturizer on top. I received this as a press sample but I’ve already gone on to purchase another bottle, which is pretty rare for me unless I really love something because I go through so many skincare products every couple of months.

Ingredients are available on the website here.

La Roche-Posay Mela-D Pigment Control Concentrated Correcting Serum

IMG_6528

  • Texture: Light liquid, slightly tinted yellow
  • Scent: Scent-free
  • Effect: Light, absorbs quickly, really does reduce dark spots
  • Price: $55 for 30mL at Shoppers Drug Mart
  • Overall: I gave this to my mom to try out because she has dark spots resulting from sun exposure and general aging. She’s been using it for a couple of weeks and I have noticed her skintone is more evened out, less sallow, and the dark spots have lightened. She’s used a ton of spot-reducing products and this is probably the first that has helped to reduce her dark spots. The effect is not significant, as it’s not meant to be a replacement for laser treatment or be too harsh on the skin. It is still quite gentle and her skin is not only more even, it is brighter and more refined. If you have dark spots from sun-exposure or age spots, I would recommend this for you. If you just have acne scars, the ingredients in this product might be too harsh for your skin as for acne scars, you just need to exfoliate regularly and it should go away. One thing to note is that you do have to make sure to use sun protection during the day if you are using this at night.

Ingredients are available on the website here.
IMG_6524
IMG_6538[Hydraphase serum on the left, Mela-D serum on the right]

12 thoughts on “Quick skincare reviews: La Roche-Posay Hydraphase Intense Serum & Mela-D Pigment Control Concentrated Correcting Serum

  1. The Mela D looks appealing for me to try. Thanks for sharing your review on this product – I may check it out after I finish with my current correcting serum (by Kiehls!)

  2. Mela D sounds very interesting. Too bad you didn’t take before and after pics of your mom. I’ve tried so many dark spot treatments but none have worked for me either. Please keep us updated on her results as she continues to use it.

    • Thanks for visiting, Kat! Sorry I wasn’t able to get her to agree to do before/after pics. We had guests over for dinner last night and they all commented on how nice my mom’s skin has looked. This product is definitely one of the more effective. It’s not a miracle-worker, so you do have to be patient to see results. Surprisingly she hasn’t even finished the bottle yet and is already seeing the good results!

  3. Pingback: Review: Bioderma Hydrabio Serum Moisturizing Concentrate (very dehydrated and sensitive skin) | *Maddy Loves

  4. hi, my dermatologist has suggested me this serum for pigmentation but i am really confuse for applying this cream because she suggested me one sunblock also and one more skin care product… i want to know is it ok if i will apply this serum in morning and then sun block?.will it be effectively in the morning time or else night only

    • You can use it for both night and day, and always remember to use a sunblock even if you just use this at night because products like this tend to make your skin more sensitive to the skin even if you use it at night only.

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

