Swatches/Thoughts: Chanel Blue Illusion Collection – Le Vernis in Sky Line and Illusion d’Ombre in Apparition

IMG_6468
Chanel Spring/Summer 2012 Haute Couture collection is probably my favourite designer collection for the year. I absolutely love the blue themed makeup that was done, which matched the intricate designs of the clothes beautifully. The makeup that was used was released as a capsule collection called Blue Illusion, which launched at Holt Renfrew last week. The entire collection is still available now, and if you need a reliable sales person, you can call the Chanel counter at Holt Renfrew Vancouver and ask for Jessica or Mandy.

IMG_6466

The first thing on my list for this collection is the Le Vernis Nail Colour in Sky Line. This is a gorgeous metallic periwinkle. The formula is medium-thick, and because it is metallic, it does have the tendency to streak. It applies smoothly and dries pretty quickly. You can get away with one thick coat for full coverage, or two thin coats.

IMG_6471
IMG_6463
IMG_6459

IMG_6474

The second item, one that I deliberated about for a long time before finally jumping for it, is the Illusion d’Ombre in Apparition. I love navy eyeshadows and this one is no exception. It is a beautiful shimmery navy blue with lots of depth. Pigmentation is medium but it can be layered for a more intense look. This is my first Illusion d’Ombre and I’m really loving the formula as it feels really interesting on my finger. It blends out really easily and is also smooth to the touch. The navy blue is ultra flattering on all skin tones.

IMG_6486

IMG_6492

I also played with the Illusion d’Ombre in Destination, which is a pale grey-blue. It is equally gorgeous as Apparition but I’ve been trying to cut down on my makeup purchases, so I didn’t get it. I highly recommend you check out this collection as everything is just breathtaking.

IMG_6477

In other Holt Renfrew related news, the Chanel counter there has pretty much overhauled their entire staff list and brought in new people. Everyone who I’ve met there is really nice and feel complete different from the people who were there before. Now I’m a little more comfortable in shopping there, especially because they do get so many exclusive collections.

8 thoughts on “Swatches/Thoughts: Chanel Blue Illusion Collection – Le Vernis in Sky Line and Illusion d’Ombre in Apparition

  1. The polish is so pretty! I feel like with metallics I need three coats to cover brush lines, but even that doesn’t help most of the time. I’ve never purchased a Chanel polish, is the quality much better than mid-price polishes like Zoya & Essie?

    • I find that Chanel comes out with more original colours compared to Zoya or Essie, which is why it is so appealing. I’m not a fan of Essie formula and I haven’t tried many Zoya polishes, so I can’t compare. Chanel polishes usually last a week on me and this one was the same. They also dry super fast.

    • Hi Liz! It goes on smoothly but slightly dry. It does crease, but all eyeshadows crease on me so I didn’t expect much in that area. I found that it doesn’t fade, but you do need to layer it to get a more intense colour.

  2. Pingback: Review + Swatches: Lise Watier Tartantastique fall 2013 collection | *Maddy Loves

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

