Swatches: Chanel Joues Constraste in 72 Rose Initiale for Fall 2012 (US version)

IMG_6413

Chanel Joues Constraste are my little guilty pleasures and I’ve been looking for the perfect rose-pink blush for the longest time. When swatches of Rose Illusion surfaced on the internet, I was so excited because this looked like “the one.” Also I had a few eBay bucks left over so I was able to get this blush for a good price on eBay, which is also why it is the US pressed blush formula and not the usual international baked blush formula that I’m able to get.

IMG_6418
IMG_6421

Rose Initiale is a coral pink-rose with a very subtle sheen. Here are some swatches (on the left) in comparison to Rose Petale (on the right):

IMG_6435
IMG_6434

This is my first US-version blush by Chanel and I’m pleasantly surprised. I always knew that our lovely neighbours to the south always complained about how bad the baked version is compared to their pressed version, and I finally know why. The pressed version is super, and I emphasize the super, finely milled, soft and pigmented compared to our baked version.

IMG_6417

Compared to my Rose Petale, which is a baked blush, Rose Initiale is so much softer and pigmented. I achieved the swatches above with just one swipe of Rose Initiale, versus about 3-4 swipes of Rose Petale. The downside to how pigmented it is is that I will have to be extra careful about how much I apply, compared to now when I can easily just build up the colours.
IMG_6429
IMG_6427

I love my Rose Initiale and I think I’m a convert to the US pressed versions of Joues Constraste. The texture and pigmentation difference is worth it for me to order in the US. Did I forget to mention that the US version contains 6 grams of product where the international version only has four grams? Sadness, I know.
IMG_6414
IMG_6416

6 thoughts on “Swatches: Chanel Joues Constraste in 72 Rose Initiale for Fall 2012 (US version)

  1. What…bigger? Now I might have to shop in the US to purchased my beauty products. Rose Initiale is a very nice shade of pink and it’s nice to hear that it’s pretty pigmented too.

  2. Pingback: Everyday favourites – blushes! | *Maddy Loves

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

