The best sheer glossy lipstick EVER: L’Oreal Colour Riche Caresse Lipcolour

IMG_5641

L’Oreal is coming out with all of these amazing products in recent years. First it was the Couleur Infallible eyeshadows, now it’s these Colour Riche Caresse Lipcolours.

I remember when sheer, glossy lipsticks were really “in” in the late 90s, but before they were really dry, had terrible colour payoff and also not that great wear time either. We’re seeing the return of these kinds of lipsticks recently but the formula has improved dramatically. The colours are vibrant, juicy, the formula is moisturizing and long-wearing.

L’Oreal’s newest Colour Riche Caresse Lipcolour comes in 12 different shades and today I have 7 to share my review and swatches with you.

IMG_5650

From left to right: 171 Pink Cashmere, 176 Sunset Angora, 172 Blushing Sequin, 174 Rose Taffeta, 179 Cherry Tulle, 175 Violet Chiffon, 173 Velvet Fuchsia.



IMG_5695-
IMG_5687-

First, let’s start with the formula. The L’Oreal Colour Riche Caresse Lipcolour formula is super creamy with a good amount of slip for easy application, but very little “running” of the colour. The colour payoff is fantastic; basically you will get what you see in the tube. The colours that they’ve chosen are classic, elegant shades that look good on all skin tones. It also looks classy in that it doesn’t have any glitter, just a very subtle shimmer that is only noticeable in sunlight, but still brings dimension to the lips. When applied, it feels completely weightless, but you still get a wonderful wash of colour.

The shade I tested for wear is my new favourite bright lipstick (and one I highly recommend if you are a little shy with bright colours), 173 Velvet Fuchsia. The glossy sheen wore off with food, which was expected, by the colour/tint lasted until I removed it at night, which was about 6-7 hours later, and only by using oil-based remover. Hence, this is a pretty long-wearing formula.

To be honest, I am kind of a lipstick brat, in that I pretty much wear high-end lipsticks 99% of the time, but I find myself reaching for these for and more because they really do compare, formula-wise, to my high-end lipsticks, specifically my Rouge Coco Shines and the Guerlain Rouge G le Brillants of my collection. Not to mention you save something like 60-80%.

The only thing that bothers me about these lipsticks is the packaging. The quality control of the packaging is not great because some of them feel wobbly, as in it feels like the actual tube of lipstick might fall out of the packaging. But I did a shake test and nothing came out, but it’s just worth noting.

L’Oreal Colour Riche Caresse Lipcolour are available in stores in July 2012 for an affordable price of just $12.99. Grab them while you can because I can see these flying off the shelves!

IMG_5646
IMG_5647
IMG_5636

14 thoughts on “The best sheer glossy lipstick EVER: L’Oreal Colour Riche Caresse Lipcolour

  1. oohh Pretty! Pink Cashmere and Blushing Sequin are my favourite. Good to see the true colour payoff. I will have to keep these in mind next time I’m at the store 🙂

  2. I wonder when it’ll be released here. This sounds like the kind of lipstick formulation that I like. Thank you for the review and swatches!

  3. I love all of these shades, they’re perfect for spring/summer wear! Compared to L’Oreal’s Le Balm, I’m guessing these are more pigmented and long-wearing?

    • Definitely more pigmented and long wearing. I haven’t tried Le Balm but from photos and swatches, it looks pretty sheer, like an actual balm. I’ll bring it to the next event and let you try it =)

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

