Review: Benefit It’s Potent! Eye Cream

I was looking for an eye cream that is creamy, easy to absorb and hydrating without being heavy, preferably some brightening as well. I bought It’s Potent! at Sephora after feeling the texture of the cream in my fingers and it felt light and creamy, perfect for my purpose.

What it claims (from BenefitCosmetics.com): Your eyes can’t keep a secret…they’re the first to show signs of age & stress. It’s potent! eye cream fades dark circles & helps smooth fine lines for brighter, younger-looking eyes. Contains a peptide complex known to help restore elasticity & firmness, a blend of hydrating botanical extracts including apple extract, known to help boost collagen, & loquat extract, known to help protect the skin from free radical damage.

Price: $32USD/$36CAD for 15mL

The good: The texture feels great as it feels like a light, fluffy cream that spreads easily, so you don’t need very much. It is hydrating enough for daily needs and isn’t heavy. It also absorbs quickly so if I used it in the morning, I didn’t have to wait to put on my concealer. This little guy lasts forever: I purchased it last August and I’ve been using it every night and I’m still not done yet, so while it might look kind of pricey at the beginning, it lasts a LONG time.

  • Great texture: fluffy, light cream
  • Spreads easily, absorbs quickly
  • Don’t need a lot, the jar lasts a long time
  • Hydrating for daily use
  • Not heavy

The bad: It claims brightening effects, but I didn’t notice any brightening at all. I also really dislike the jar packaging because the cream always gets underneath my fingernails. I would love to see this in an airtight pump bottle design.

  • No brightening effect
  • Dislike jar packaging

Overall: It is a good eye cream for people in their early to mid-twenties who need that little bit more moisture but don’t need any anti-aging yet. I used this exclusively at night, but you can use it for the day time as well because it does absorb so quickly so you don’t need to wait for it to absorb before applying makeup. The value is also pretty good as it takes almost a year to finish a 15mL jar.

  • Product: 16/20
  • Value: 4.5/5
  • Packaging: 3/5
  • Ease of Use: 4/5
  • Overall: 27.5/35 | B+
  • Repurchase? Likely, if I can’t find anything else I really like
Ingredients: WATER (AQUA), ETHYLENE/ACRYLIC ACID COPOLYMER, BUTYLENE GLYCOL, GLYCERIN, PROPYLENE GLYCOL DICAPRYLATE/DICAPRATE, SQUALANE, CAPRYLIC/CAPRIC TRIGLYCERIDE, STEARETH-21, LINUM USITATISSIMUM (LINSEED) SEED EXTRACT, HEXYLDECANOL, STEARALKONIUM HECTORITE, CETYL ALCOHOL, STEARYL ALCOHOL, STEARETH-2, GLYCERYL HYDROXYSTEARATE, SODIUM POLYACRYLATE, METHYLPARABEN, ALCOHOL, PALMITIC ACID, STEARIC ACID, CHLORPHENESIN, DIMETHICONE, PROPYLENE CARBONATE, TOCOPHERYL ACETATE, ALTHAEA OFFICINALIS ROOT EXTRACT, PRUNUS AMYGDALUS DULCIS (SWEET ALMOND) FRUIT EXTRACT, HESPERIDIN METHYL CHALCONE, GLYCERYL ACRYLATE/ACRYLIC ACID COPOLYMER, ACRYLATES/C10-30 ALKYL ACRYLATE CROSSPOLYMER, STEARETH-20, TROMETHAMINE, BUTYLPARABEN, ETHYLPARABEN, TRITICUM VULGARE (WHEAT) PROTEIN, PROPYLENE GLYCOL, TITANIUM DIOXIDE (CI 77891), TETRASODIUM EDTA, PROPYLPARABEN, AVENA SATIVA (OAT) KERNEL PROTEIN, ISOBUTYLPARABEN, THEOBROMA CACAO (COCOA) EXTRACT, SODIUM HYALURONATE, CHLORHEXIDINE DIGLUCONATE, SANGUISORBA OFFICINALIS ROOT EXTRACT, XANTHAN GUM, PHENOXYETHANOL, PYRUS MALUS (APPLE) FRUIT EXTRACT, CAPRYLIC/CAPRIC/SUCCINIC TRIGLYCERIDE, DIPEPTIDE-2, POTASSIUM SORBATE, ERIOBOTRYA JAPONICA LEAF EXTRACT, PALMITOYL TETRAPEPTIDE-7, PLANKTON EXTRACT. N° 02539/N
4 thoughts on “Review: Benefit It’s Potent! Eye Cream

  1. I don’t like eye creams that are in jars either. I’ve solved that problem by using those little spoon/spatula things that you get from Sephora when you test creams. I actually bought a whole bunch from Crown Brush so I can send you a few if you’d like–still gotta send you the skin care that I got for you in Japan.

  2. I have a miniature size of this product that I always take with me on vacations. Started using it and been pretty happy with it. I think if I continue to like it I’ll go for an upgrade but I agree a small amount of it goes a long way.

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

