Review: Cellnique Intensive Hydrating Lotion & Intensive Hydrating Gel Wash

Continued from my last Cellnique review, here are two more products that I’ve been using over the past few months.

Just a little background on my situation now. I am trying to meet targets at work, so I have been incredibly stressed; for a couple of weeks I worked nearly 10-14 hours a day for the entire week. Then, probably due to overwork, over-stress and lack of sleep (and proper food, nutrition, etc.), I caught something and was very sick in bed for nearly a week. It’s been almost three weeks since I got sick and I am still coughing and trying to recover. These two incidents have really taken a toil on my skin, which is trying to recover from both sickness and stress. However, I have been using these Cellnique products over the past few months and I have found that it has really helped my skin recover quickly and get back to its former glory.

My skin profile: I have very dehydrated cheeks with a t-zone that gets oily. I occasionally get break-outs, usually 1-2 around that time of the month. My main skin concerns are hyper-pigmentation and dehydration in the cheek area and fine lines in the eye area. My cheeks are also sensitive and prone to redness. My ideal skincare products are ones that provide good moisture to my skin, absorb quickly and leave no left-over product sitting on top of my skin.

Cellnique Intensive Hydrating Lotion

What it claims (from Cellnique.com): Intensive Hydrating Lotion is a unique hydrophilic lotion containing Hyaluronic Acid, Silanetriol and 17 types of Amino Acids to provide instant hydration and preserve optimum moisture balance to the skin. It soothes sensitive-prone skin and furnishes skin with free-radical protection, leaving it supple and silky smooth. This is a hypo-allergenic formulation excellent for all skin types, excellent on dry, sensitive and mature skin.

Price: $32USD for 200mL

Texture/Scent: Viscous fluid, scent-free

The good: I tend to take very hot showers so the moisture is usually drained out of my skin, but when I smooth this on my skin with a cotton pad, I can feel my skin being relieved and refilled with water. It feels very light on, absorbs quickly but is still very hydrating. It also leaves no residue behind at all. I feel my skin is plumper after every application. It is also non sticky, leaving behind no grease or residue.

The bad: I’m not a fan of the bottle as it is a tall pour bottle that I found hard to control the amount of lotion dispensed out of it. I ended up pouring everything into a bottle with a pump as I find that easier to use.

Overall: I really like this toner as it is so simple but works so well. I appreciate that I can feel my skin being refilled with moisture after each application. While its main purpose is to hydrate the skin, I also feel that it does a good job at removing any left-over dirt or grime on the skin as well. The only thing I would improve is the bottle design as I find it a little hard to manoevre. I would recommend this to everyone, to be honest. It’s light enough for people with oily skin to use (and would help to balance out the skin), and people with dry skin will just suck this up. Of course, it is also perfect for anyone with sensitive skin, which is what it was designed for originally.

Product: 19/20
Packaging: 2/5
Value: 4/5
Overall: 25/30 | A
Repurchase? Very likely

Ingredients list: Purified Water (Aqua), Butylene Glycol, Glycerin, Propylene Glycol, Methyl Gluceth 20, PVMMA Copolymer, Phenoxyethenol, Vitamin B5 (Panthenol), Hydroxyethylcellulose, Sodium Hyaluronate, Sodium Citrate, Silanetriol, Hyaluronic Acid, Methylisothiazolinone, Lysine, Histidine, Arginine, Aspartic Acid, Threonine, Serine, Glutamic Acid, Proline, Glycine, Alanine, Valine, Methionine, Isoleucine, Leucine, Tyrosine, Phenylalanine, Cysteine.

Cellnique Intensive Hydrating Gel Wash

What it claims (from Cellnique.com): A gentle facial wash designed for dry, sensitive and mature skin. Cleanse, condition, revitalize all at once with this cleanser’s unique blend of skin-smart ingredients; Purslane Extract, Green Tea Extract and Chamomile Extract. It sweeps away impurities without drying out and irritating the skin. Extremely gentle and non-comedogenic.

Price: $38USD for 200mL

Texture/Scent: Light clear green gel

The good: This is a mild gel cleanser that doesn’t foam up as much as other cleansers I’ve used in the past, so it is good for people with sensitive skin, unfortunately…

The bad: My personal preference is to use a cleanser that foams up really well as I feel that it does help to clean the skin better (I think it’s a psychological thing).

Overall: I feel this would be a good cleanser to use when my skin is acting up during allergy season (which is not now). It is extremely mild, but still cleans relatively well without leaving any residue behind. Unfortunately I wasn’t able to test this out properly because I just don’t like to use a cleanser like this (which is why there is no rating), but it would be the perfect cleanser for people with sensitive skin or if you have extra dry skin and can’t use the traditional cleansers that might strip the skin.

Ingredients list: Purified Water (Aqua), Cocamidopropyl Betaine, PEG-80 Sorbitan Laurate, Methyl Gluceth-20, PEG-150 Distearate, PEG-8, Phenoxyethanol, Cocamide DEA, Citric Acid, Polysorbate 20, Tetrasodium EDTA, Fragrance, Purslane (Portulaca oleracea) Extract, Green Tea (Camellia sinensis) Leaf Extract, Olive ( Olea Europaea) Leaf Extract, Chamomile (Anthemis Nobilis ) Flower Extract, Methylisothiazolinone, Cl 60725, Cl 19140, Cl 42090.

6 thoughts on “Review: Cellnique Intensive Hydrating Lotion & Intensive Hydrating Gel Wash

  1. The lotion sounds really great! I actually don’t mind pouring out of a bottle – if you just cover the opening with the pad you’re using, then it seems to work ok… unless it just gushes out a lot?

    • If you cover the opening with the cotton pad, nothing comes out, haha. You either have to squeeze, which is difficult because the bottle is pretty hard plastic, or shake it out XD

  2. I am currently using the Cellnique Intensive Hydrating Gel Wash and it has been doing very well on my skin (I’ve been using it for a year). 🙂 I have sensitive skin so it’s suitable for me.

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments!

